The American Boy (The Perennial Collection)

3.53 avg rating
( 2,245 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007266739: The American Boy (The Perennial Collection)

Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses. A man is found dead and horribly mutilated on a building site. A heiress flirts with her inferiors. A poor schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before it destroys him and those he loves. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the new world as well as the old. The American Boy is a 21st-century novel with a 19th-century voice. It is both a multi-layered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire. And at its centre is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Andrew Taylor is the award-winning author of a number of crime novels, including the Dougal series, the Lydmouth books and The Barred Window. He and his wife live with their children in the Forest of Dean.

From AudioFile:

Through the voice of Alex Jennings, we are guided through a tale of darkness and romance, intrigue and mystery, which features Edgar Allan Poe's father and young Poe himself as the epon-ymous boy. Jennings reads with such enormous variety that we are consumed by his characterizations, which include wheezing drunkards, schoolboys, and shy housemaids. He fulfills the role of a schoolmaster who is haphazardly drawn into the lives of two of his students. Through their families he becomes entangled in a network of questions and oddities that could result in his own death. The listener becomes completely absorbed with the persona of the novel. J.P. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2005, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Taylor, Andrew
Published by Harper Perennial (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007266731 ISBN 13: 9780007266739
New paperback First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2008. paperback. Book Condition: New. Signed UK Trade Paperback Book. 2008 LON: Harper Perennial First UK Trade Paperback edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless pictorial wraps. signed by author. Bookseller Inventory # TAYAMER30

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
23.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Andrew Taylor
Published by Harper Perennial (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007266731 ISBN 13: 9780007266739
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110007266731

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Taylor, Andrew
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0007266731 ISBN 13: 9780007266739
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0007266731 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0940459

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds