A Corpse in Shining Armour (Liberty Lane, Book 3)

3.66 avg rating
( 189 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007244249: A Corpse in Shining Armour (Liberty Lane, Book 3)

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Matthew Hawkwood and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society. Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably!added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling ways of Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be!?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Caro Peacock grew up in a farmhouse that, for most of her childhood, contained half a dozen brothers, sisters and cousins, twice as many cats and dogs, no central heating and one bathroom that stopped working every time the spring that supplied it silted up. This possibly bred the habit of curling up in a quiet place with a book and, later, a passion for travel that led to a rather disrupted education. Somewhere along the line, she acquired a great interest in Victorian history -- which she considers a much misunderstood period -- and particularly the part played in it by independently-minded women. Caro rides horses, climbs, trampolines and spends some time every year studying wild flowers in the Alps.

Review:

Praise for 'Death of a Dancer': 'A terrific page-turner in the tradition of Georgette Heyer, written with great enthusiasm and verve, with a wonderful evocation of the tawdry, precarious world behind the spectacle of the variety stage' Guardian 'A light-hearted and engaging novel' TLS Praise for 'Death at Dawn' 'Great period detail and heaps of energy! feisty' Daily Mirror 'Echoes of Georgette Heyer! well-crafted! an enjoyable romp' She 'Good old-fashioned adventure! romps along at a fine pace!a thrilling murder-mystery' Easy Living 'Some well-described set pieces temper the breakneck pace of the action, and the ending is as satisfying as one could wish' The Times 'Light, easy reading for anyone who enjoys a bit of Victorian mystery' Observer 'An enjoyable historical novel' Woman's Day 'Fast-paced and lively! this historical drama will keep you intrigued -- definitely hard to put down!' My Weekly

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Caro Peacock
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters s Victorian novels.London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn s sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society.Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably.added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be.?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Caro Peacock
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000181328

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Caro Peacock
Published by Harper 2009-06-25 (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2009-06-25, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00015232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Caro Peacock
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters s Victorian novels.London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn s sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society.Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably.added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be.?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Caro Peacock
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. Num Pages: 448 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 201 x 142 x 28. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Caro Peacock
Published by Harper and Brothers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper and Brothers, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 032509

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. Num Pages: 448 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 201 x 142 x 28. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Caro Peacock
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Caro Peacock
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels.London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007244249_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book