A Corpse in Shining Armour

3.66 avg rating
( 181 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007244249: A Corpse in Shining Armour

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day’s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters’s Victorian novels.

London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.

Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society.

Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably…added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be…?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for ‘Death of a Dancer’:

‘A terrific page-turner in the tradition of Georgette Heyer, written with great enthusiasm and verve, with a wonderful evocation of the tawdry, precarious world behind the spectacle of the variety stage’ Guardian

‘A light-hearted and engaging novel’ TLS

Praise for ‘Death at Dawn’

‘Great period detail and heaps of energy… feisty’ Daily Mirror

‘Echoes of Georgette Heyer… well-crafted… an enjoyable romp’ She

‘Good old-fashioned adventure… romps along at a fine pace…a thrilling murder-mystery’ Easy Living

‘Some well-described set pieces temper the breakneck pace of the action, and the ending is as satisfying as one could wish’ The Times

'Light, easy reading for anyone who enjoys a bit of Victorian mystery' Observer

'An enjoyable historical novel' Woman's Day

‘Fast-paced and lively… this historical drama will keep you intrigued – definitely hard to put down!’ My Weekly

About the Author:

Caro Peacock acquired the reading habit from her childhood growing up in a farmhouse. Later, she developed an interest in women in Victorian society and from this grew the character of Liberty Lane. She rides, climbs and trampolines as well as enjoys the study of wild flowers.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2009-06-25, London (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2009-06-25, London, 2009. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Peacock, Caro
Published by Harper and Brothers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper and Brothers, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 032509

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.97
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters s Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn s sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society. Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably.added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be.?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, A Corpse in Shining Armour, Caro Peacock, Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society. Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably.added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be.?. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters s Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn s sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society. Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably.added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be.?. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Peacock, Caro
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072442490000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Peacock, Caro
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet. Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkbu. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007244249_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Peacock, Caro
Published by Harpercollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins Publishers, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 448 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __000724424X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Peacock, Caro
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2009)
ISBN 10: 000724424X ISBN 13: 9780007244249
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2009. Book Condition: New. 2009. Paperback. Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day's work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters's Victorian novels. Num Pages: 448 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 201 x 142 x 28. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007244249

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book