Mavericks at Work: Why the most original minds in business win

3.7 avg rating
( 525 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007244065: Mavericks at Work: Why the most original minds in business win

An engaging and incisive look at today's top business leaders – visionary and creative mavericks who are changing the way we do business. Inspiring and accessible, ‘Mavericks at Work’ is for anyone who wants to succeed in business – from the entry-level employee to the CEO.

In ‘Mavericks at Work’, two high-profile journalists introduce an inspiring group of entrepreneurs and executives who are building great businesses by challenging business as usual. From break-the-mould innovators such as HBO, Pixar, and Netflix to global giants such as IBM and Procter & Gamble, these mavericks are winning big by devising new answers to the oldest (and toughest) challenges of competition and leadership. Their stories are exciting – and their ideas are truly powerful.

Real mavericks know that:

• Big, original ideas pay big dividends
• Being different makes all the difference
• Nobody is as smart as everybody
• Cheaper is better, but value is priceless
• Great leaders are insatiable learners

‘Mavericks at Work’ is a relentlessly useful how-to book. But it is also an eye-opening what-if book – with insights that showcase the power of business at its best and set a positive agenda for the future.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

“A pivotal work in the tradition of ‘In Search of Excellence’ and ‘Good to Great’ and featuring many of today's most interesting corporate rising stars. These are companies that blend the revolutionary zeal of the late 1990s dotcom era with an emphasis on values in a way that has set them apart from the ethical crisis gripping American business in the first years of this century.” The Economist.

"Cases. Cases. Cases. We desperately need concrete, compelling, uplifting examples of new varieties of Excellence to guide us to and through the future. And you'll find them by the bushel in ‘Mavericks at Work’. Bill Taylor and Polly LaBarre, a pair of brilliant raconteurs as well as analysts, more than fulfill their promise to let us be 'eyewitnesses to the future.' I didn't 'read' this book–I devoured it." Tom Peters

Tom Peters is the author of ‘In Search of Excellence’ and one of the leading management experts in the world.

From the Publisher:

From Publishers Weekly
A collection of case studies featuring the same formulaic ebullience
endemic to business books since blurber Tom Peters' seminal work In Search
of Excellence, this reader from FastCompany magazine cofounder Taylor and
influential business writer LaBarre profiles some of the more interesting
companies doing business today: Cirque de Soleil, Commerce Bank, Pixar,
Anthropologie, Southwest Airlines, Jones Soda, Apple Computer and
Craigslist among them. Such companies may have disparate cultures, but what
unites them is originality, self-knowledge and passion. Whether by
remaining small, recruiting zealously, or functioning like a kind of cult,
such businesses succeed by imbuing the corporate rank and file with an
entrepreneur's vision, avoiding the twin vices of mediocrity and
complacency. Conversational but rigorous, Taylor and Labarre's chipper
exploration of imagination at work holds value for novice and journeyman
business leaders.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All
rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

William Taylor, Polly LaBarre
Published by HarperCollins (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007244061 ISBN 13: 9780007244065
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Travel-Bookshop
(Hertfordshire, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new books and maps available immediately from a reputable and well rated UK bookseller - not sent from the USA; despatched promptly and reliably worldwide by Royal Mail; Bookseller Inventory # MOV09119780007244065

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
1
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.11
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

William Taylor, Polly LaBarre
Published by Harper (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007244061 ISBN 13: 9780007244065
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Aardvark Rare Books
(Bucknell, SHROP, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000037717

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.03
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

POLLY LABARRE' 'WILLIAM TAYLOR
Published by HARPER (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007244061 ISBN 13: 9780007244065
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007244061

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

WILLIAM TAYLOR, POLLY LABARRE'
Published by HARPER (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007244061 ISBN 13: 9780007244065
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-131-16-6324006

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.96
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds