Elizabeth Aston THE SECOND MRS DARCY

ISBN 13: 9780007241507

THE SECOND MRS DARCY

3.72 avg rating
( 1,332 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007241507: THE SECOND MRS DARCY

This novella is a Pride and Prejudice variation. Devastated by Elizabeth’s refusal of his infamous proposal, Darcy marries his sickly cousin, Anne de Bourgh. Darcy expects Elizabeth will be out of his life forever, but Anne Darcy and fate bring Elizabeth to Pemberley. Jane Austin fan-fiction author Renata McMann combines talents with fantasy author Summer Hanford for this novella.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Elizabeth Aston is a passionate Jane Austen fan who studied with Austen biographer Lord David Cecil at Oxford. The author of several novels, including Mr. Darcy’s Daughters, she lives in England and Italy.

From Publishers Weekly:

Aston's latest novel (after The True Darcy Spirit) focuses on another woman in the tradition of Elizabeth Bennet, Octavia Melbury. Tall and outspoken, Octavia fails to find a husband in London and is dispatched to India, where she is to live with relatives. There, she marries Capt. Christopher Darcy, but their happy union is cut short when he dies from an insect bite. Christopher's spiteful cousin, George Warren, nabs the estate and leaves Octavia with a pittance. However, a surprise and sizable inheritance comes Octavia's way, and she travels back to England, where she keeps mum about her newfound fortune while her conniving half-sister Theodosia schemes to marry her off. Octavia takes a shine to her smart, headstrong niece, Penelope, who, in turn, fancies a man of lower stature than her mother will accept. Not so for Octavia, whose rocky repartee with Lord Sholto Rutherford matures, inevitably, into love. Meanwhile, George realizes Christopher's inheritance isn't as large as he had thought and plots to steal Octavia's fortune. Aston's villains may be one-note wicked, but the lengths to which their puerile greed sends them make for good reading. Fans of the series will enjoy this chronicle of reversals of fortune. (Mar.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Elizabeth Aston
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 000724150X ISBN 13: 9780007241507
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 320 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __000724150X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

ELIZABETH ASTON
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2008)
ISBN 10: 000724150X ISBN 13: 9780007241507
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007241507 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0983693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds