Tracy Chevalier The Virgin Blue

ISBN 13: 9780007241460

The Virgin Blue

3.65 avg rating
( 24,335 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007241460: The Virgin Blue

Paperback. Pub Date :2006-12-04 Pages: 312 Language: English Publisher: HarperCollins Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine. Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. this is historical fiction at its very best.The compelling story of two women. born four centuries apart. and the ancestral legacy that binds them.Ella Turner does her best to fit in to the small. close-knit community of Lisle-sur-Tarn. She even changes her name back to Tournier. and knocks the rust off her high school French. But it is all in vain. Isolated and lonely. she is drawn to investigate her Tournier ancestry. which leads to her encounter with the town's wolfish librarian.Isabelle du Moulin. known as Le Rousse due to her fiery red hair. is tormented and shunned in the village - suspected of witchcraft and reviled for her association with the Virgin Mary. Falling pregnant. she is forced to marry into the ruling fami...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Tracy Chevalier’s first novel is a triumph. Excellent’ Time Out

‘An intriguing and poignant read’ Sunday Express

‘Such an achievement for a serious writer that you feel it deserves an award’ Independent

‘A beautifully crafted story shot with vivid colours’ The Times

From the Publisher:

The compelling story of two women, born centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the author of the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, this is historical fiction at its very best and perfect for fans of Rose Tremain, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. The compelling story of two women, born four centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them. Ella Turner does her best to fit in to the small, close-knit community of Lisle-sur-Tarn. She even changes her name back to Tournier, and knocks the rust off her high school French. But it is all in vain. Isolated and lonely, she is drawn to investigate her Tournier ancestry, which leads to her encounter with the town s wolfish librarian. Isabelle du Moulin, known as Le Rousse due to her fiery red hair, is tormented and shunned in the village - suspected of witchcraft and reviled for her association with the Virgin Mary. Falling pregnant, she is forced to marry into the ruling family: the Tourniers. Tormentor becomes husband, and a shocking fate awaits her. Plagued by the colour blue, Ella is haunted by parallels with the past, and by her recurring dream. Then one morning she wakes up to discover that her hair is turning inexplicably red. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007241460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by Harper (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000182466

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the author of the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, this is historical fiction at its very best and perfect for fans of Rose Tremain, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. The compelling story of two women, born four centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them. Ella Turner does her best to fit in to the small, close-knit community of Lisle-sur-Tarn. She even changes her name back to Tournier, and knocks the rust off her high school French. But it is all in vain. Isolated and lonely, she is drawn to investigate her Tournier ancestry, which leads to her encounter with the town s wolfish librarian. Isabelle du Moulin, known as Le Rousse due to her fiery red hair, is tormented and shunned in the village - suspected of witchcraft and reviled for her association with the Virgin Mary. Falling pregnant, she is forced to marry into the ruling family: the Tourniers. Tormentor becomes husband, and a shocking fate awaits her. Plagued by the colour blue, Ella is haunted by parallels with the past, and by her recurring dream. Then one morning she wakes up to discover that her hair is turning inexplicably red. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007241460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by Harper 2006-12-04 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2006-12-04, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00004033

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by Harper 2006-12-04 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2006-12-04, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00381445

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by Harper 2006-12-04 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2006-12-04, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-LBR-00448962

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Tracy Chevalier
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Virgin Blue, Tracy Chevalier, From the author of the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, this is historical fiction at its very best and perfect for fans of Rose Tremain, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. The compelling story of two women, born four centuries apart, and the ancestral legacy that binds them. Ella Turner does her best to fit in to the small, close-knit community of Lisle-sur-Tarn. She even changes her name back to Tournier, and knocks the rust off her high school French. But it is all in vain. Isolated and lonely, she is drawn to investigate her Tournier ancestry, which leads to her encounter with the town's wolfish librarian. Isabelle du Moulin, known as Le Rousse due to her fiery red hair, is tormented and shunned in the village - suspected of witchcraft and reviled for her association with the Virgin Mary. Falling pregnant, she is forced to marry into the ruling family: the Tourniers. Tormentor becomes husband, and a shocking fate awaits her. Plagued by the colour blue, Ella is haunted by parallels with the past, and by her recurring dream. Then one morning she wakes up to discover that her hair is turning inexplicably red. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007241460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Tracy Chevalier
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072414600000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Chevalier, Tracy
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. 2006. New Ed. Paperback. From the author of the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, this is historical fiction at its very best and perfect for fans of Rose Tremain, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 127 x 23. Weight in Grams: 256. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007241460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Chevalier, Tracy
Published by Harper (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007241461 ISBN 13: 9780007241460
New Softcover Quantity Available: 5
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2006. Book Condition: New. 2006. New Ed. Paperback. From the author of the international bestseller Girl with a Pearl Earring, this is historical fiction at its very best and perfect for fans of Rose Tremain, Kate Morton and Sarah Waters. Num Pages: 368 pages. BIC Classification: FV. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 196 x 127 x 23. Weight in Grams: 256. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007241460

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book