Koontz, Dean The Good Guy

ISBN 13: 9780007226603

The Good Guy

3.81 avg rating
( 27,802 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007226603: The Good Guy

A stunning new thriller in the vein of Velocity and The Husband from one of the world’s bestselling authors.

After a day's work hefting brick and stone, Tim Carrier slakes his thirst at The Lamplighter Tavern. Nothing heavy happens there. It's a friendly workingman's bar run by his good friend Rooney, who enjoys gathering eccentric customers. Working his deadpan humour on strangers is, for Tim, all part of the entertainment.

But how could Tim have imagined that the stranger who sits down next to him one evening is about to unmake his world and enmesh him in a web of murder and deceit? The man has come there to meet someone and he thinks it's Tim. Tim's wayward sense of humour lets the misconception stand for a moment and that's all it takes: the stranger hands Tim a fat manila envelope, saying, 'Half of it's there; the rest when she's gone,' and then he's out the door.

In the envelope Tim finds the photograph of a woman, her name and address written on the back; and several thick packets of hundred-dollar bills.

When an intense-looking man sits down where the first stranger sat and glances at the manila envelope, Tim knows he's the one who was supposed to get it. Shaken, thinking fast, Tim says he's had a change of heart. He removes the picture of the woman and then hands the envelope to the stranger. 'Half what we agreed,' he says. 'For doing nothing. Call it a no-kill fee.'

Tim is left holding a photo of a pretty woman, but his sense of fun has led him into a very dangerous world from which there is no way back. The company of strangers has cost him his peace of mind, and possibly his life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘A terrific pursuit story … clever, up-to-the-minute, and riveting’ Guardian

‘One of the great masters of suspense, Koontz has an undeniable gift for playing on the reader’s innermost fears … What we have come to expect from Koontz are exciting, fast-paced thrillers that make your flesh creep. Once again, he doesn’t disappoint’ Northern Echo

Praise for Dean Koontz:

‘There’s surprise after surprise, including a killer finale … a read-in-one-go novel’ Independent on Sunday on Velocity

‘Velocity hits its pace from the first page and races through to a suitably climactic ending’ Sydney Sunday Telegraph

‘Dean Koontz is not just a master of our darkest dreams, but also a literary juggler’ The Times

‘Psychologically complex, masterly and satisfying ’ The New York Times

'A modern Swift … a master satirist.' Entertainment Weekly

'If Stephen King is the Rolling Stones of novels, Koontz is the Beatles.' Playboy

'Dean Koontz writes page-turners, middle-of-the-night sneak-up-behind-you suspense thrillers. He touches our hearts and tingles our spines.' Washington Post Book World

'Tumbling, hallucinogenic prose. Serious writers might do well to study his technique.' New York Times Book Review

'Fast-paced and dark … Koontz knows we live in a world where evil delights in justifying itself … Classic literature that deserves a place on the bookshelf beside Orwell's 1984 and Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451.' California Literary Review

'Koontz is writing right where popular culture swells into something larger, just as it did for Homer, Shakespeare, and Dickens. He's got the gift.' Australian

'Koontz is a superb plotter and wordsmith. He chronicles the hopes and fears of our time in broad strokes and fine detail, using popular fiction to explore the human condition.' USA Today

'Inspires both chills and serious thought … has the power to scare the daylights out of us.' People

'The poet laureate of paranoid pop fiction.' Denver Post

'Koontz achieves a literary miracle … stunning physical description, unique turns of phrase.' Boston Globe

'Near Dickensian powers of description.' Los Angeles Times

Book Description:

The International Bestseller

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Koontz, Dean
Published by 2008-01-02. (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007226608 ISBN 13: 9780007226603
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cambridge Rare Books
(Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008-01-02., 2008. Book Condition: New. Harper. New title. Paperback. Book: VERY GOOD. 448pp. . Bookseller Inventory # NF-1129823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Koontz, Dean
Published by Harper and Brothers (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007226608 ISBN 13: 9780007226603
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Zarak Books
(Norwich, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper and Brothers, 2008. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: New. 12mo - over 6¾" - 7¾" tall. Brand new copy. Bookseller Inventory # 025992

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Koontz, Dean
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007226608 ISBN 13: 9780007226603
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 448 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007226608

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Koontz, Dean
Published by Harper, UK
ISBN 10: 0007226608 ISBN 13: 9780007226603
New Softcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cosmo Books
(Shropshire., United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, UK. Softcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Available Now. Book Description: A stunning new thriller in the vein of Velocity and The Husband from one of the world's bestselling authors.: After a day's work hefting brick and stone, Tim Carrier slakes his thirst at The Lamplighter Tavern. Nothing heavy happens there. It's a friendly workingman's bar run by his good friend Rooney, who enjoys gathering eccentric customers. Working his deadpan humour on strangers is, for Tim, all part of the entertainment.: But how could Tim have imagined that the stranger who sits down next to him one evening is about to unmake his world and enmesh him in a web of murder and deceit? The man has come there to meet someone and he thinks it's Tim. Tim's wayward sense of humour lets the misconception stand for a moment and that's all it takes: the stranger hands Tim a fat manila envelope, saying, 'Half of it's there; the rest when she's gone,' and then he's out the door.: In the envelope Tim finds the photograph of a woman, her name and address written on the back; and several thick packets of hundred-dollar bills.: When an intense-looking man sits down where the first stranger sat and glances at the manila envelope, Tim knows he's the one who was supposed to get it. Shaken, thinking fast, Tim says he's had a change of heart. He removes the picture of the woman and then hands the envelope to the stranger. 'Half what we agreed,' he says. 'For doing nothing. Call it a no-kill fee.': Tim is left holding a photo of a pretty woman, but his sense of fun has led him into a very dangerous world from which there is no way back. The company of strangers has cost him his peace of mind, and possibly his life. : Review: 'A terrific pursuit story . clever, up-to-the-minute, and riveting' Guardian: 'One of the great masters of suspense, Koontz has an undeniable gift for playing on the reader's innermost fears . What we have come to expect from Koontz are exciting, fast-paced thrillers that make your flesh creep. Once again, he doesn't disappoint' Northern Echo: Praise for Dean Koontz: : 'There's surprise after surprise, including a killer finale . a read-in-one-go novel' Independent on Sunday on Velocity: 'Velocity hits its pace from the first page and races through to a suitably climactic ending' Sydney Sunday Telegraph: 'Dean Koontz is not just a master of our darkest dreams, but also a literary juggler' The Times: 'Psychologically complex, masterly and satisfying ' The New York Times: 'A modern Swift . a master satirist.' Entertainment Weekly: 'If Stephen King is the Rolling Stones of novels, Koontz is the Beatles.' Playboy: 'Dean Koontz writes page-turners, middle-of-the-night sneak-up-behind-you suspense thrillers. He touches our hearts and tingles our spines.' Washington Post Book World: 'Tumbling, hallucinogenic prose. Serious writers might do well to study his technique.' New York Times Book Review: 'Fast-paced and dark . Koontz knows we live in a world where evil delights in justifying itself . Classic literature that deserves a place on the bookshelf beside Orwell's 1984 and Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451.' California Literary Review: 'Koontz is writing right where popular culture swells into something larger, just as it did for Homer, Shakespeare, and Dickens. He's got the gift.' Australian: 'Koontz is a superb plotter and wordsmith. He chronicles the hopes and fears of our time in broad strokes and fine detail, using popular fiction to explore the human condition.' USA Today: 'Inspires both chills and serious thought . has the power to scare the daylights out of us.' People: 'The poet laureate of paranoid pop fiction.' Denver Post: 'Koontz achieves a literary miracle . stunning physical description, unique turns of phrase.' Boston Globe: 'Near Dickensian powers of description.' Los Angeles Times : Book Description: The International Bestseller Size: 11.1 x 3 x 17.8 cm. 448 pages. Quantity Available: 1. Category: Crime Fiction; ISBN: 0007226608. ISBN/EAN: 9780007226603. Inventory No: B240-1073. Bookseller Inventory # B240-1073

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds