Sea Fiction Robert Low The Whale Road

ISBN 13: 9780007215287

The Whale Road

3.8 avg rating
( 2,046 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007215287: The Whale Road

The first in the Oathsworn series, charting the adventures of a band of Vikings on the chase for the secret hoard of Attila the Hun.Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn - so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood - and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder.But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious 'White Christ' are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the 'whale road', toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together.Robert Low, a significant up and coming voice in historical fiction, has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, THE WHALE ROAD is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin. The Oathsworn series is sure to hook old and new readers alike.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Robert Low has been a journalist and writer since the age of seventeen. He covered the wars in Vietnam, Sarajevo, Romania and Kosovo until common sense and the concerns of his wife and daughter prevailed.To satisfy his craving for action, having moved to an area rich in Viking tradition, he took up re-enactment, joining The Vikings. He now spends his summers fighting furiously in helmet and mail in shieldwalls all over Britain and winters training hard. He lives in Largs, Scotland.

From Publishers Weekly:

British journalist Low's debut novel is a rousing, sprawling saga of Viking warriors and the quest for hidden treasure. The adventure begins in A.D. 965, when 15-year-old Orm Ruriksson—aka Orm the Bear Slayer—joins the Oathsworn, a band of raiders that includes his father, Rurik, and is led by the ruthless Einar the Black. After hearing a tale about a mountain of silver that once belonged to Attila the Hun, the band sets out to find it, accompanied by a madwoman who claims to know the treasure's location. The daunting journey becomes more treacherous as competitors also race for the prize. Bluetooth, the King of the Danes and the Norwegians, covets the treasure for himself, and an unscrupulous Catholic monk joins the chase, not for the silver but for the Spear of Destiny—the spear that pierced Christ's side on the cross and was later forged into Attila's sword. Low mixes history, archeology, mythology and nonstop, often-sanguinary action into a fast-moving adventure tale. (Aug.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Robert Low
Published by Harper Collins (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007215282

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Low, Robert
Published by Harper Collins (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007215282

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
36.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Robert Low
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. 352 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007215282

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
37.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Robert Low
Published by Harper Collins, London UK (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Fiction First
(Congleton, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, London UK, 2007. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. A fine unread 1st impression in a fine dustwrapper, Signed by the Author on the title page. Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 005421

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 18.01
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Robert Low
Published by Harper Collins Publishing (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sapphire Books
(Peterborough, CAMBS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishing, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Published In 2007 : 1st. Edition : Harper Collins Publishing : Pristine Copy : Overall, A Very Nice Book : Bookseller Inventory # 22 - 18472

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
36.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 16.96
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Low, Robert
Published by Harper Collins (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Facts & Fiction.
(ROSEBUD, VIC, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine As New. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine As New. 1st Edition. First edition stated # 1, British journalist Low's debut novel is a rousing, sprawling saga of Viking warriors and the quest for hidden treasure. The adventure begins in A.D. 965, when 15-year-old Orm Ruriksson.aka Orm the Bear Slayer joins the Oathsworn, a band of raiders that includes his father, Rurik, and is led by the ruthless Einar the Black. After hearing a tale about a mountain of silver that once belonged to Attila the Hun, the band sets out to find it, accompanied by a madwoman who claims to know the treasure's location. 340 pages plus glossary. Bookseller Inventory # 019224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 17.21
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Low, Robert
Published by Harper Collins
ISBN 10: 0007215282 ISBN 13: 9780007215287
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007215282 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1011219

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
118.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.82
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds