The American Boy

3.53 avg rating
( 2,241 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007206841: The American Boy

Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. England 1819: Thomas Shield, a new master at a school just outside London, is tutor to a young American boy and the boy's sensitive best friend, Charles Frant. Drawn to Frant's beautiful, unhappy mother, Thomas becomes caught up in her family's twisted intrigues. Then a brutal crime is committed, with consequences that threaten to destroy Thomas and all that he has come to hold dear. Despite his efforts, Shield is caught up in a deadly tangle of sex, money, murder and lies -- a tangle that grips him tighter even as he tries to escape from it. And what of the strange American child, at the heart of these macabre events, yet mysterious -- what is the secret of the boy named Edgar Allen Poe?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Andrew Taylor is the award-winning author of a number of crime novels, including the Dougal series, the Lydmouth books and 'The Barred Window'. He and his wife live with their children in the Forest of Dean.

From AudioFile:

Through the voice of Alex Jennings, we are guided through a tale of darkness and romance, intrigue and mystery, which features Edgar Allan Poe's father and young Poe himself as the epon-ymous boy. Jennings reads with such enormous variety that we are consumed by his characterizations, which include wheezing drunkards, schoolboys, and shy housemaids. He fulfills the role of a schoolmaster who is haphazardly drawn into the lives of two of his students. Through their families he becomes entangled in a network of questions and oddities that could result in his own death. The listener becomes completely absorbed with the persona of the novel. J.P. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2005, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Andrew Taylor; Derek Jacobi
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2005)
ISBN 10: 0007206844 ISBN 13: 9780007206841
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2005. Audio CD. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0007206844

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds