Crime Stuart MacBride Broken Skin

ISBN 13: 9780007193189

Broken Skin

4.14 avg rating
( 4,956 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007193189: Broken Skin

Detective Sergeant Logan McRae’s only chance of getting out from under Detective Inspectors Steel and Insch is to get noticed. Not that any of his cases are the type that he wants to get noticed for.

For starters, someone dumped a dying man at the hospital, and the team can’t ID him or the person who dumped him. Even worse, McRae is also after a knife-wielding eight-year-old who is stirring up bad press for the department that does little for their case against Robert Macintyre, Aberdeen’s beloved star soccer player. They’re convinced he’s a rapist, but they can’t hold him long enough to prove it. Catching these perps is thankless work, and McRae’s chances of getting rewarded are as bad as Aberdeen’s without their leading goal scorer.

With his third masterful installment in a series that combines suspense with a dark and distinctly Scottish wit, award-winning author Stuart MacBride is setting a blistering standard for the next generation of crime writers.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Praise for Dying Light
 
“Fans of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina will enjoy the mordant MacBride, whose second novel is every bit as dark and riveting as his debut, Cold Granite.”
---Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Any of the flamboyant evildoers in Dying Light could carry a terrific whodunit.”
---Entertainment Weekly
Praise for Cold Granite
“Stuart MacBride joins an illustrious roster of Scottish crime writers. . . . By tangling together a half-dozen competing plot lines, MacBride keeps readers off-balance, even those who think they can see the tripwires.”
---Houston Chronicle
 
“Grade: A . . . Tartan noir has a fresh new voice with an Aberdeen brogue in Stuart MacBride, whose first mystery, Cold Granite, bids well to keep up with Ian Rankin and Denise Mina. . . . I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the career of Det. Sgt. McRae.”
---Rocky Mountain News
 
“McRae is an interesting and subtle detective, and his investigation is both inventive and imaginative.”
---Dallas Morning News
 
“Unbelievably assured and accomplished . . . MacBride is starting at the very top with his first book, which approaches the level of Michael Connelly’s best work. . . . MacBride’s writing is so good here that it’s hard to believe it’s not a sign of staying power.”
---Flint Journal

About the Author:

Stuart MacBride is the author of three novels and the winner of the Crime Writers’ Association’s Dagger in the Library for his body of work. His first novel, Cold Granite, won the Barry Award and was shortlisted for the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel, and his second, Dying Light, was shortlisted for the Barry Award. MacBride lives in Aberdeen, Scotland, with his wife.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stuart MacBride
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007193181 ISBN 13: 9780007193189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Broken Skin, Stuart MacBride, The third in the bestselling Logan McRae series, set in gritty Aberdeen, laced with dark humour. In the pale grey light of a chilly February, Aberdeen is not at its best! There's a rapist prowling the city's cold granite streets, leaving a string of tortured women behind. But while DS Logan McRae's girlfriend is out acting as bait, he's dealing with the blood-drenched body of an unidentified male, dumped outside Accident and Emergency. When a stash of explicit films turns up, all featuring the victim, it looks as if someone in the local bondage community has developed a taste for violent death, and Logan gets dragged into the twilight world of pornographers, sex-shops and S&M. To make matters worse, when they finally arrest the Granite City Rapist, Grampian Police are forced by the courts to let him go: Aberdeen Football Club's star striker has an alibi for every attack. Could they really have got it so badly wrong? Logan thinks so, but the trick will be getting anyone to listen before the real rapist strikes again. Especially as his girlfriend, PC Jackie 'Ball Breaker' Watson, is convinced the footballer is guilty and she's hell-bent on a conviction at any cost!. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007193189

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
240.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds