Crime Stuart MacBride Broken Skin

ISBN 13: 9780007193172

Broken Skin

4.15 avg rating
( 5,117 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007193172: Broken Skin

A new Logan McRae thriller from the bestselling author of 'Cold Granite' and 'Dying Light', set in gritty Aberdeen. In the pale grey light of a chilly February, Aberdeen is not at its best! There's a rapist prowling the city's cold granite streets, leaving a string of tortured women behind. But while DS Logan McRae's girlfriend is out acting as bait, he's dealing with the blood-drenched body of an unidentified male, dumped outside Accident and Emergency. When a stash of explicit films turn up, all featuring the victim, it looks as if someone in the local bondage community has developed a taste for violent death, and Logan gets dragged into the twilight world of pornographers, sex-shops and S&M. To make matters worse, when they finally arrest the Granite City Rapist, Grampian Police are forced by the courts to let him go: Aberdeen Football Club's star striker has an alibi for every attack. Could they really have got it so badly wrong? Logan thinks so, but the trick will be getting anyone to listen before the real rapist strikes again. Especially as his girlfriend, PC Jackie 'Ball Breaker' Watson, is convinced the footballer is guilty and she's hell-bent on a conviction at any cost...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Praise for Dying Light
 
“Fans of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina will enjoy the mordant MacBride, whose second novel is every bit as dark and riveting as his debut, Cold Granite.”
---Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Any of the flamboyant evildoers in Dying Light could carry a terrific whodunit.”
---Entertainment Weekly
Praise for Cold Granite
“Stuart MacBride joins an illustrious roster of Scottish crime writers. . . . By tangling together a half-dozen competing plot lines, MacBride keeps readers off-balance, even those who think they can see the tripwires.”
---Houston Chronicle
 
“Grade: A . . . Tartan noir has a fresh new voice with an Aberdeen brogue in Stuart MacBride, whose first mystery, Cold Granite, bids well to keep up with Ian Rankin and Denise Mina. . . . I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the career of Det. Sgt. McRae.”
---Rocky Mountain News
 
“McRae is an interesting and subtle detective, and his investigation is both inventive and imaginative.”
---Dallas Morning News
 
“Unbelievably assured and accomplished . . . MacBride is starting at the very top with his first book, which approaches the level of Michael Connelly’s best work. . . . MacBride’s writing is so good here that it’s hard to believe it’s not a sign of staying power.”
---Flint Journal

About the Author:

Stuart MacBride has gone from asking people if they 'want fries with that' to project-managing vast IT projects for the oil industry. Somewhere in the middle he managed to make money out of dressing up as a woman, doing voiceovers, graphic design, working offshore, and very boring things involving websites. He failed the interview to become a funeral director. His first book, 'Cold Granite was shortlisted for the International Thriller Writers' best debut novel and won the Barry Award for best first novel. The follow-up, 'Dying Light', became an instant top-ten bestseller. Both books feature DS Logan McRae. Stuart lives in north-east Scotland with his wife Fiona, cat Grendel, and a vegetable plot full of weeds.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007193173 ISBN 13: 9780007193172
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110007193173

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by HarperCollins (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007193173 ISBN 13: 9780007193172
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Welcombe Books
(BOURNEMOUTH, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: As New. 1st Edition. A very fine first printing in a likewise unclipped dust wrapper. Unread gift condition, SIGNED and Publication Day DATED by the author to the title page. An outstanding copy. BOXED DESPATCH. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE-1493463717004

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0007193173 ISBN 13: 9780007193172
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007193173 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0001534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

MacBride, Stuart
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007193173 ISBN 13: 9780007193172
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007193173

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
78.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds