The Impartial Recorder: A Novel

3.46 avg rating
( 57 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007157396: The Impartial Recorder: A Novel

The Impartial Recorder is an extraordinary book about ordinary people in a small town in the middle of nowhere. It may be the only funny book you will ever read about the weather. And the only novel that comes with its own handy index to help guide you straight to subjects such as "sushi, and Christian guilt," "adultery, brazened out" and "regretted bitterly," "snacks, between meals, inadvisability of," and the terrible "unfairness of having read Jeanette Winterson, and yet still having to work in an in-store bakery."

The Impartial Recorder takes its name from the tirelessly gossip-oriented local paper that reports on nothing in particular and on everything that's too interesting to have made a more dignified newspaper of record. The story kicks off with the return of a prodigal son, Davey Quinn, who is struggling to hide the fact that he hasn't done quite as well in the big city as friends and family have been led to believe. But that's only the beginning. The Impartial Recorder goes on to celebrate the heroic energies and comic failures of plumbers and ministers of religion, sandwich entrepreneurs and housewives, short-order cooks and owners of lingerie shops. In the tradition of Garrison Keillor and Roddy Doyle, Ian Sansom has given us a brilliant and hopeful comedy; in his words, a "book of profound inconsequence, as beautiful and moving as, say, the sight of an elderly couple standing outside a greengrocer's, trying to choose a cauliflower."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Ian Sansom is a frequent contributor and critic for The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, The London Review of Books, and The Spectator and a regular broadcaster on BBC Radio 3 and Radio 4. He is the author of nine books including Paper: An Elegy, and the Mobile Library Series.

Review:

“A humane, big-hearted and sometimes devastatingly funny book.” (LA Weekly)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sansom, Ian
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ohmsoft LLC
(Lake Forest, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: Brand New. Ships from USA. FREE domestic shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 0007157398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ian Sansom
Published by Harper (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007157398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Sansom, Ian
Published by Harper 2004-07-06 (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2004-07-06, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First US Edition. 0007157398 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0007157398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ian Sansom
Published by Harper (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007157398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sansom, Ian
Published by Harper (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2004. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007157398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
23.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ian Sansom
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800071573961.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
49.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sansom, Ian
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007157398 ISBN 13: 9780007157396
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007157398 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1010925

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
55.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds