Michael Asher Sandstorm

ISBN 13: 9780007141579

Sandstorm

3.91 avg rating
( 75 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007141579: Sandstorm

Another dramatic, contemporary novel from the author of Rare Earth. Morocco, 1943: 14 year old Billy Sterling regains consciousness to find himself alone in the desert. Beside him is the wreckage of a light aircraft and the corpse of the pilot. Terrified, Billy soon realises that he is utterly stranded, alone, in a vast and hostile wilderness. He does not see the human eyes, watching him from a distance. London, 1950: George Bridger Sterling is still experiencing profound anguish over the disappearance of his son, who hasn't been seen for seven years. His terrible feeling of guilt allows him to persist in the belief that Billy is still alive. Then George is contacted by a mysterious stranger, who claims to be the co-pilot of the crashed plane, and has information that could lead to Billy -- for a price. Travelling to a vast, dangerous desert, accompanied only by a man he barely knows, let alone trusts, Sterling must retrace the vague footsteps left nearly a decade before. But why was the plane anywhere near the Western Sahara? And why are they not the only people interested in what was on board?The action is fast and furious, from the plane crash to tribal traditions, and the desert scenes are powerful and lyrical. Visually brilliant, with a wonderful range of characters from tribal warriors to double-agents, it will appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Andy McNab.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael Asher served in the Parachute Regiment and the SAS. He lived for three years with a Bedu tribe and made the first west-east crossing of the Sahara. He is the author of 8 non-fiction books, including the bestseller The Real Bravo Two Zero, and 3 novels. He currently lives in Nairobi, Kenya with his wife and their two children.

Review:

'The best novel of African adventure since King Solomon's Mines.' Jack Higgins

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Michael Asher
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007141572 ISBN 13: 9780007141579
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
California Spanish Books
(San francisco, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2004. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007141579

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
27.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Michael Asher
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007141572 ISBN 13: 9780007141579
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2004. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0007141572

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
48.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds