Asher, Michael Sandstorm

ISBN 13: 9780007141555

Sandstorm

 
9780007141555: Sandstorm

Another dramatic, contemporary novel from the author of Rare Earth.

Morocco, 1943: 14 year old Billy Sterling regains consciousness to find himself alone in the desert. Beside him is the wreckage of a light aircraft and the corpse of the pilot. Terrified, Billy soon realises that he is utterly stranded, alone, in a vast and hostile wilderness. He does not see the human eyes, watching him from a distance.

London, 1950: George Bridger Sterling is still experiencing profound anguish over the disappearance of his son, who hasn't been seen for seven years. His terrible feeling of guilt allows him to persist in the belief that Billy is still alive. Then George is contacted by a mysterious stranger, who claims to be the co-pilot of the crashed plane, and has information that could lead to Billy – for a price.

Travelling to a vast, dangerous desert, accompanied only by a man he barely knows, let alone trusts, Sterling must retrace the vague footsteps left nearly a decade before. But why was the plane anywhere near the Western Sahara? And why are they not the only people interested in what was on board?

The action is fast and furious, from the plane crash to tribal traditions, and the desert scenes are powerful and lyrical. Visually brilliant, with a wonderful range of characters from tribal warriors to double-agents, it will appeal to fans of Wilbur Smith and Andy McNab.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘The best novel of African adventure since King Solomon’s Mines.’ Jack Higgins

From the Back Cover:

Sandstorm is a fast-paced, atmospheric thriller, set in the deserts of North Africa.

Billy Sterling regained consciousness to find himself alone in the desert. Beside him was the wreckage of a light aircraft and the corpse of the pilot. Terrified, Billy soon realised that he was stranded in a vast and hostile wilderness. He did not see the human eyes, watching him from a distance.

George Bridger Sterling persists in believing that his son, Billy, who hasn't been seen for seven years, is still alive. Then a mysterious stranger contacts him, claiming to be the co-pilot of the
crashed plane. Within hours, the man is dead. But the new hope he has provided is enough.

Travelling to a vast, dangerous desert, accompanied only by a man he barely knows, let alone trusts, Sterling must retrace the vague footsteps left nearly a decade before. But why was the plane anywhere near the Western Sahara? And why are they not the only people interested in what was on board?

‘The best novel of African adventure since King Solomon’s Mines.’ Jack Higgins on Rare Earth

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Asher, Michael
Published by HARPERCOLLINS @ PUBLISHERS
ISBN 10: 0007141556 ISBN 13: 9780007141555
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERCOLLINS @ PUBLISHERS. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2704939550

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Asher, Michael
Published by HARPERCOLLINS @ PUBLISHERS (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007141556 ISBN 13: 9780007141555
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERCOLLINS @ PUBLISHERS, 2003. Book Condition: Fair. First Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP89127217

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
5.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Asher, Michael
Published by HARPERCOLLINS @ PUBLISHERS (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007141556 ISBN 13: 9780007141555
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPERCOLLINS @ PUBLISHERS, 2003. Book Condition: Fair. First Edition. N/A. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP93192141

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
5.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Asher, Michael
ISBN 10: 0007141556 ISBN 13: 9780007141555
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR003162539

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
13.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Asher, Michael
ISBN 10: 0007141556 ISBN 13: 9780007141555
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Book Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Bookseller Inventory # GOR003445883

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
13.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.89
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds