Ness, Patrick The Crash of Hennington

ISBN 13: 9780007139415

The Crash of Hennington

3.63 avg rating
( 251 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007139415: The Crash of Hennington

A satirical novel with real emotional depth, from a debut author who will appeal to readers of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins

‘I can't remember reading a novel in such a compulsive, leave-me-in-peace way since Tales from the City. Patrick Ness weaves Armistead Maupin's mini-chapters, sharp dialogue and outrageous plot-weaving with hallucinatory, apocalyptic material worthy of Russell Hoban or Philip Pullman but the unpredictable result is entirely original. More please!’ patrick gale

With the legendary Cora Larsson finally stepping down as Mayor to make way for her protegee, Max Latham, the seaside city of Hennington finds itself in a state of flux. In the midst of the worst heatwave in living memory, even the crash of rhinos that wanders the city’s streets and parks is becoming restless, and has caused several rush-hour traffic jams this week.

Across town, bow-legged and malevolent Country Club owner Thomas Banyon’s temperature is also rising, as he stews over the small size of his particular universe – and at the tight leash held on him by his powerful father Archie, scion of Banyon Enterprises and friend to Cora Larsson. In fact, come to think of it, Thomas just might be the perfect candidate to run for Mayor against Cora’s golden boy, Max…

Told with great style, wit and feeling, The Crash of Hennington is a magnificent satirical novel with real emotional depth. Reminiscent of the work of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins, it combines a refreshing, unshowy intelligence with a wonderfully rich cast of characters, in a setting that is both surreally different and undeniably familiar. Welcome to Hennington.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Patrick Ness recreates the world as we know it, infusing it with a charm and whimsy that brings to mind Calvino and, of course, the Ionesco of “Rhinoceros”. This is a true changeling of a book, both funny and subversive.’ T.C. Boyle

From the Author:

This is merely an informational note (not something telling you how to read The Crash of Hennington). There is another author on Amazon called Patrick Ness who wrote two books on the Transjordan Frontier Force. Although you wouldn't think that Patrick Ness is a wildly common name, that Patrick Ness and myself are not related. I certainly wish him well, and indeed all the other Patrick Nesses of the world (the Melbourne architect, the young Midwestern US manga bandmember, the Alaskan fisherman, et al).

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ness, Patrick
Published by Flamingo (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007139411 ISBN 13: 9780007139415
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007139411

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
84.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds