The Crash of Hennington

3.6 avg rating
( 297 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007139415: The Crash of Hennington

A satirical novel with real emotional depth, from a debut author who will appeal to readers of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins 'I can't remember reading a novel in such a compulsive, leave-me-in-peace way since Tales from the City. Patrick Ness weaves Armistead Maupin's mini-chapters, sharp dialogue and outrageous plot-weaving with hallucinatory, apocalyptic material worthy of Russell Hoban or Philip Pullman but the unpredictable result is entirely original. More please!' patrick gale With the legendary Cora Larsson finally stepping down as Mayor to make way for her protegee, Max Latham, the seaside city of Hennington finds itself in a state of flux. In the midst of the worst heatwave in living memory, even the crash of rhinos that wanders the city's streets and parks is becoming restless, and has caused several rush-hour traffic jams this week. Across town, bow-legged and malevolent Country Club owner Thomas Banyon's temperature is also rising, as he stews over the small size of his particular universe -- and at the tight leash held on him by his powerful father Archie, scion of Banyon Enterprises and friend to Cora Larsson. In fact, come to think of it, Thomas just might be the perfect candidate to run for Mayor against Cora's golden boy, Max...Told with great style, wit and feeling, The Crash of Hennington is a magnificent satirical novel with real emotional depth. Reminiscent of the work of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins, it combines a refreshing, unshowy intelligence with a wonderfully rich cast of characters, in a setting that is both surreally different and undeniably familiar. Welcome to Hennington.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

patrick ness was brought up in Seattle, on the west coast of America, but now lives in London. The Crash of Hennington is his first novel.

Review:

'Patrick Ness recreates the world as we know it, infusing it with a charm and whimsy that brings to mind Calvino and, of course, the Ionesco of "Rhinoceros". This is a true changeling of a book, both funny and subversive.' T.C. Boyle

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ness, Patrick
Published by Flamingo (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007139411 ISBN 13: 9780007139415
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110007139411

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
113.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ness, Patrick
Published by Flamingo
ISBN 10: 0007139411 ISBN 13: 9780007139415
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007139411 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0939657

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
156.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Patrick Ness
Published by Flamingo (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007139411 ISBN 13: 9780007139415
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007139411

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
184.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds