Blood on the Tongue

3.9 avg rating
( 1,734 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007136285: Blood on the Tongue

Booth has crafted an evocative, gorgeously written work of multilayered, thinking personUs crime fiction. Building toward its astonishing climax with subtlety and elegance, Blood on the Tongue ripples with authentic emotional tension and genuine surprise.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The weather is cold and the clues no warmer as Peak District detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry tackle a medley of mysteries--each one knottier than the last--in English author Stephen Booth's haunting third novel, Blood on the Tongue. The unidentified body of a dead man has turned up on a frosty roadside. An abused woman is found curled in the snow on nearby Irontongue Hill, an apparent suicide. And there's the lingering puzzle of a Royal Air Force bomber that crashed into Irontongue back in 1945, killing everyone on board except for the pilot, who reportedly walked away from the wreckage... and was never heard from again. With leave and sickness decimating the ranks of the Edendale police force, all hands are needed to solve the modern deaths. But constable Cooper finds himself distracted by the World War II tragedy, in large part because of a beguiling young Canadian, the granddaughter of that missing pilot, who's come to Edendale determined to clear her ancestor's name.

Not surprisingly, these various cases eventually intertwine. But how they're linked by time and tragedy provides the intrigue here. Equally involving is the prickly alliance between Cooper, the "too bloody nice" local lad, and his superior, the emotionally guarded outsider, Fry. Plotted for maximum psychological suspense, teeming with singular secondary characters, and capitalizing on Britain's still-poignant memories of the last world war, Blood on the Tongue is an ambitious and remarkably mature work that delivers on the promise Booth showed in his first novel, Black Dog. --J. Kingston Pierce

From the Back Cover:

Stephen Booth returns with an evocative mystery perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

It's a new year for Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new mysteries to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter.

It isn't the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Her demise is horrifying. Is it also suspicious?

When two more bodies are found, Cooper and Fry begin to wonder whether these tragedies are connected—and whether they will survive the winter . . .

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Booth, Stephen
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, London, United Kingdom (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007136285 ISBN 13: 9780007136285
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mad 4 Mysteries
(Columbia, SC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, London, United Kingdom, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. As new - unread. First UK edition, first printing. SIGNED by author on title page. Third in the Cooper/Fry series. Dust jacket in Mylar. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 001107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.76
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Booth, Stephen
Published by HarperCollins, Harper Collins, London (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007136285 ISBN 13: 9780007136285
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Scene of the Crime
(St. Catharines, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, Harper Collins, London, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition first printing of the third novel in the Ben Cooper and Diane Fry series. SIGNED by the author on the title page. In fine / fine unread condition. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 17420

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
35.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Booth, Stephen
Published by HarperCollins (Collins Crime) 2002-01-01 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007136285 ISBN 13: 9780007136285
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins (Collins Crime) 2002-01-01, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 0007136285 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0007136285

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
81.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds