Blood on the Tongue (Cooper and Fry Crime Series)

3.9 avg rating
( 1,783 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007130665: Blood on the Tongue (Cooper and Fry Crime Series)

Guilt, sacrifice and redemption in a freezing Derbyshire winter in this tense psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of `Black Dog'. 'The sun had dropped over the edge of Irontongue Hill so that the snow-covered moor was in shadow ... but Marie Tennent would never see the dawn.' Marie's was not the only body lying undiscovered under the Peak District snow that January morning - nor the first. In 1945, the wreckage of a bomber was found on the Hill, full of dead crewmen. The missing pilot was declared responsible, but why would a decorated hero desert? The only other survivor refuses to talk. A young Canadian woman has arrived to uncover the truth - the pilot was her grandfather. DC Ben Cooper is intrigued. Perhaps he can help? To his boss DS Fry, investigating two frozen bodies found on the moors, her colleague's interest is entirely unprofessional. But the past has a way of influencing the present and before either knows it, a long-cold trail in the dead of winter has grown dangerously hot ...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The weather is cold and the clues no warmer as Peak District detectives Ben Cooper and Diane Fry tackle a medley of mysteries--each one knottier than the last--in English author Stephen Booth's haunting third novel, Blood on the Tongue. The unidentified body of a dead man has turned up on a frosty roadside. An abused woman is found curled in the snow on nearby Irontongue Hill, an apparent suicide. And there's the lingering puzzle of a Royal Air Force bomber that crashed into Irontongue back in 1945, killing everyone on board except for the pilot, who reportedly walked away from the wreckage... and was never heard from again. With leave and sickness decimating the ranks of the Edendale police force, all hands are needed to solve the modern deaths. But constable Cooper finds himself distracted by the World War II tragedy, in large part because of a beguiling young Canadian, the granddaughter of that missing pilot, who's come to Edendale determined to clear her ancestor's name.

Not surprisingly, these various cases eventually intertwine. But how they're linked by time and tragedy provides the intrigue here. Equally involving is the prickly alliance between Cooper, the "too bloody nice" local lad, and his superior, the emotionally guarded outsider, Fry. Plotted for maximum psychological suspense, teeming with singular secondary characters, and capitalizing on Britain's still-poignant memories of the last world war, Blood on the Tongue is an ambitious and remarkably mature work that delivers on the promise Booth showed in his first novel, Black Dog. --J. Kingston Pierce

From the Back Cover:

Stephen Booth returns with an evocative mystery perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

It's a new year for Ben Cooper and Diane Fry, and that means new mysteries to solve in the icy depths of a bitter winter.

It isn't the easiest way to commit suicide, but the dead woman seems to have simply curled up in the freezing snow and lain there until her heart stopped. There was no one to observe her death but the foxes and the hares. Yet she is riddled with bruises. Her demise is horrifying. Is it also suspicious?

When two more bodies are found, Cooper and Fry begin to wonder whether these tragedies are connected—and whether they will survive the winter . . .

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Guilt, sacrifice and redemption in a freezing Derbyshire winter in this tense psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of `Black Dog . The sun had dropped over the edge of Irontongue Hill so that the snow-covered moor was in shadow . but Marie Tennent would never see the dawn. Marie s was not the only body lying undiscovered under the Peak District snow that January morning - nor the first. In 1945, the wreckage of a bomber was found on the Hill, full of dead crewmen. The missing pilot was declared responsible, but why would a decorated hero desert? The only other survivor refuses to talk. A young Canadian woman has arrived to uncover the truth - the pilot was her grandfather. DC Ben Cooper is intrigued. Perhaps he can help? To his boss DS Fry, investigating two frozen bodies found on the moors, her colleague s interest is entirely unprofessional. But the past has a way of influencing the present and before either knows it, a long-cold trail in the dead of winter has grown dangerously hot . Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007130665

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper 2007-02-05 (2007)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2007-02-05, 2007. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BER-00001323

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Guilt, sacrifice and redemption in a freezing Derbyshire winter in this tense psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of `Black Dog . The sun had dropped over the edge of Irontongue Hill so that the snow-covered moor was in shadow . but Marie Tennent would never see the dawn. Marie s was not the only body lying undiscovered under the Peak District snow that January morning - nor the first. In 1945, the wreckage of a bomber was found on the Hill, full of dead crewmen. The missing pilot was declared responsible, but why would a decorated hero desert? The only other survivor refuses to talk. A young Canadian woman has arrived to uncover the truth - the pilot was her grandfather. DC Ben Cooper is intrigued. Perhaps he can help? To his boss DS Fry, investigating two frozen bodies found on the moors, her colleague s interest is entirely unprofessional. But the past has a way of influencing the present and before either knows it, a long-cold trail in the dead of winter has grown dangerously hot . Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007130665

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper (2007)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2007. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000180027

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper 2007-02-05 (2007)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2007-02-05, 2007. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00013924

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper (2003)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2003. Book Condition: New. Guilt, sacrifice and redemption in a freezing Derbyshire winter in this tense psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of 'Black Dog'. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 180 x 114 x 35. Weight in Grams: 356. . 2003. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007130665

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Booth, Stephen
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. Guilt, sacrifice and redemption in a freezing Derbyshire winter in this tense psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of 'Black Dog'. Num Pages: 400 pages. BIC Classification: FA; FF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 180 x 114 x 35. Weight in Grams: 356. . 2003. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007130665

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins (2007)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2007. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780007130665

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.66
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stephen Booth
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007130665

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Stephen Booth
Published by HarperCollins (2007)
ISBN 10: 000713066X ISBN 13: 9780007130665
New Softcover Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2007. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007130665_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book