Spinka, Penina Picture Maker

ISBN 13: 9780007122455

Picture Maker

3.97 avg rating
( 460 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007122455: Picture Maker

A brilliant, powerful, historical saga – a grand epic by a prize-winning children’s author. The world of 14th-century America is unknown to most readers and Penina Spinka's remarkable novel brings it triumphantly alive, from the tribal wars through to the Norse invasions and the fiercely resisted Christianity.

The girl known as Picture Maker because of her great ability at drawing and prophecy, is the daughter of one of the warriors and the granddaughter of the clan leader. She is captured by one of her family's enemies and because she was regarded as a trophy is kept alive and enslaved. When she discovers she is pregnant by one of her captors, she manages to escape, and, inspired by the destiny she had depicted, begins the long, mysterious journey which ends in the furthermost parts of the Western Hemisphere.

There, still an outsider but revered and protected, she lives for a time in peace with an Inuit tribe until she meets and falls in love with Halvard, a Norse hunter, who seems to hold the key to the riddle of her birth. Together they travel on to Greenland but Picture Maker's special gifts make her regarded with suspicion, Halvard is attacked and her daughter will be taken from her, in what seems a terrible repetition of what happened to her so long ago.

Picture Maker is a powerful story, with a large cast of vivid characters, in a fascinating setting which will appeal to readers of Jean Auel and Jane Smiley. Penina Spinka, an award-winner for her children's books, has created a rich picture of the period and the people, of the ways of the societies and religions, and above all of Picture Maker herself, as she grows beyond her once narrow, ordered confines: an amazing and very human survivor.

At its heart, Picture Maker is a novel of high adventure, of love and loss, and survival under the harshest circumstances.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The girl known as Picture Maker because of her great ability at drawing and prophecy, is the daughter of one of the warriors and the granddaughter of the clan leader. She is captured by one of her family's enemies and because she was regarded as a trophy is kept alive and enslaved. When she discovers she is pregnant by one of her captors, she manages to escape, and, inspired by the destiny she had depicted, begins the long, mysterious journey which ends in the furthermost parts of the Western Hemisphere.

There, still an outsider but revered and protected, she lives for a time in peace with an Inuit tribe until she meets and falls in love with Halvard, a Norse hunter, who seems to hold the key to the riddle of her birth. Together they travel on to Greenland but Picture Maker's special gifts make her regarded with suspicion, Halvard is attacked and her daughter will be taken from her, in what seems a terrible repetition of what happened to her so long ago.

Picture Maker is a powerful story, with a large cast of vivid characters, in a fascinating setting which will appeal to readers of Jean Auel and Jane Smiley. Penina Spinka, an award-winner for her children's books, has created a rich picture of the period and the people, of the ways of the societies and religions, and above all of Picture Maker herself, as she grows beyond her once narrow, ordered confines: an amazing and very human survivor.

At its heart, Picture Maker is a novel of high adventure, of love and loss, and survival under the harshest circumstances.

About the Author:

Penina Spinka is the author of many award-winning historical novels. She has also written three novels for young adults, which received high review coverage and two awards in the US. She lives with her husband in Arizona, where she is at work on the sequel to Picture Maker.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Spinka, Penina
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800071224550000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2011. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007122455 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0982763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sequitur Books
(Boonsboro, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Gift quality. Clean, unmarked pages. Good binding and cover. Hardcover and dust jacket. Ships daily. Bookseller Inventory # 81247549

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
20.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.23
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007122454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
26.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 544 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007122454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
25.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007122454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0007122454 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0001719

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
49.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Spinka, Penina
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122454 ISBN 13: 9780007122455
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007122454

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
52.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.41
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds