Forbidden Fruits

2.56 avg rating
( 18 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007114979: Forbidden Fruits

An intelligent, quality saga on the glamour, scandal and hypocrisy of the Scottish aristocracy which will appeal to readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi. Glamorous, rich and rife with secret scandal, the clannish Macarthur family, rarely out of the glossy pages of every high society magazine, reigns over Edinburgh's wealthy New Town. However, as the formidable family patriarch, Jack Macarthur, lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the strict code of silence that has been crucial to their respectability...And as the stories of mistresses, illegitimate children, homosexuality and sadomasochism break in the press, the family struggles to lead its life in the public eye...While in the heart of the storm, the beautiful Marianne Maclean, broken down by a destructive affair with Luke Macarthur; and his handsome cousin Ben Macarthur, once unconfident but now strengthened by adversity -- and the only man Marianne had ever loved -- find themselves swept up in the tide together...Deliciously scandalous, intelligent and compulsively page-turning, this quality saga will delight readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Julia Hamilton was brought up in Scotland and now lives in London with her two daughters. Her previous novels include Other People's Rules.

From Publishers Weekly:

Like her first novel, Other People's Rules, Hamilton's sophomore effort exposes the perverse private lives of a seemingly wholesome, elite Edinburgh family. Patriarch Jack Macarthur is on his deathbed when a nosy reporter threatens to reveal family secrets. Jack has been supporting a mistress and illegitimate daughter for 16 years. His older son, Duncan, a golden boy who helps him run his publishing company, habitually makes the rounds of the gay club circuit, even though he's supposed to be settled down with his devoted partner, Charles. Jack's nephew Luke has a predilection for s&m. The crisis forces the younger son, Ben, to replace his father as head of the family. Ben is divorced, unable to settle down with girlfriend Marianne and changes careers more often than he changes his socks. Yet with the family's dirty laundry about to be put on display, Ben is the Macarthurs' best chance for salvaging their dignity. With no chapter breaks, too many back stories about irrelevant branches of the family and no dominating point of view, the novel is fragmented. The women in the book are particularly two-dimensional (the submissive mistress; the stuffy, repressed matriarch; etc.), and Hamilton tends to rely on pat descriptions ("Duncan was... a financial whiz kid, and the apple of their father's eye"). As long as readers don't expect too much subtlety, they may find the family's dramatic saga, full of random acts of violence and tragedy, to be luridly absorbing.
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Very Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. Though second-hand, the book is still in very good shape. Minimal signs of usage may include very minor creasing on the cover or on the spine. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1363488

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Bookseller Inventory # G0007114974I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Paperback. Book Condition: As New. Only slightly differentiated from a new book. Undamaged cover and spine. Pages may display light wear but no marks. Bookseller Inventory # G0007114974I2N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Julia Hamilfton
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Soft & Cuddlies
(Tamworth, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Good+. 326 tight pages READING CREASES, LIGHT EDGE CORNER WEAR,. Bookseller Inventory # 025157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # 1218744

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001501497

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.74
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hemingway Ventures Ltd.
(Consett, CD, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. In VERY GOOD overall condition, with some signs of previous ownership. Daily dispatch from UK warehouse. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000039163

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2002. Book Condition: Very Good. 2002. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # KNW0005559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
5.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins 05/06/2002 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 05/06/2002, 2002. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007114979

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Book Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 0007114974-2-4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
6
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book