Hamilton, Julia Forbidden Fruits

ISBN 13: 9780007114979

Forbidden Fruits

2.62 avg rating
( 16 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007114979: Forbidden Fruits

An intelligent, quality saga on the glamour, scandal and hypocrisy of the Scottish aristocracy which will appeal to readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

Glamorous, rich and rife with secret scandal, the clannish Macarthur family, rarely out of the glossy pages of every high society magazine, reigns over Edinburgh's wealthy New Town.

However, as the formidable family patriarch, Jack Macarthur, lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the strict code of silence that has been crucial to their respectability… And as the stories of mistresses, illegitimate children, homosexuality and sadomasochism break in the press, the family struggles to lead its life in the public eye…

While in the heart of the storm, the beautiful Marianne Maclean, broken down by a destructive affair with Luke Macarthur; and his handsome cousin Ben Macarthur, once unconfident but now strengthened by adversity – and the only man Marianne had ever loved – find themselves swept up in the tide together…

Deliciously scandalous, intelligent and compulsively page-turning, this quality saga will delight readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Other People's Rules:

'A clever story, a really good read' Rosamunde Pilcher

'First class story-telling. Other People's Rules is the best novel I've read since Captain Corelli's Mandolin… A really excellent novel.' Anne Weale

'A compelling thriller written about power and the way it can be abused.' Carla McKay, Daily Mail

'A real page turner.' Prima

'There's something deliciously Brideshead about this account of a naïve young girl, falling in thrall to the aristocratic family she becomes briefly part of.' Daily Express

Praise for her writing:

‘A writer of the first rank – she is compellingly readable’ Evening Standard

‘A subtle pen and a belief in the affirmation of love’
Elizabeth Buchan, Mail on Sunday

‘A thoughtful, warm, articulate novelist’ Helen Dunmore, The Times

From the Back Cover:

Glamorous, rich and rife with secret scandal, the clannish Macarthur family, rarely out of the glossy pages of every high society magazine, reigns over Edinburgh's wealthy New Town. But as the formidable family patriarch, Jack Macarthur, lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the strict code of silence… And while stories of mistresses, illegitimate children, homosexuality and sadomasochism break in the press, the beautiful Marianne Maclean – broken down by a destructive affair with Luke Macarthur – and his handsome cousin Ben Macarthur, the only man Marianne had ever loved, find themselves swept up in the tide together…

Deliciously scandalous, intelligent and compulsively page-turning, this quality saga will delight readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Soft & Cuddlies
(Tamworth, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Good+. 326 tight pages READING CREASES, LIGHT EDGE CORNER WEAR,. Bookseller Inventory # 025157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.10
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1024143

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Very Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. Though second-hand, the book is still in very good shape. Minimal signs of usage may include very minor creasing on the cover or on the spine. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1363488

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.21
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hamilton, Julia
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Booksmith
(Birmingham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. Creases to spine. Minor wear to cover edges. Slight tanning to page edges. Bookseller Inventory # T021718

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.65
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Tartan Frog
(Thirsk, A, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. In VERY GOOD general condition, with some signs of previous use. Dispatched from the UK daily Another Croaking bargain from the Frog !!!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001433766

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins 05/06/2002 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 05/06/2002, 2002. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007114979

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sunrise Books Ltd
(Lowestoft, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: GOOD. Paperback; English language; good condition. Your book will be securely packed and promptly dispatched from our UK warehouse. For buyers outside the UK we now offer significantly lower rates on our airmail shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 10148cra014

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sunrise Books Ltd
(Lowestoft, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: AVERAGE. Paperback; English language; a fair reading copy. Your book will be securely packed and promptly dispatched from our UK warehouse. For buyers outside the UK we now offer significantly lower rates on our airmail shipping. Bookseller Inventory # 05074krw017

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # 1218744

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001501497

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book