Forbidden Fruits

2.53 avg rating
( 17 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007114979: Forbidden Fruits

An intelligent, quality saga on the glamour, scandal and hypocrisy of the Scottish aristocracy which will appeal to readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

Glamorous, rich and rife with secret scandal, the clannish Macarthur family, rarely out of the glossy pages of every high society magazine, reigns over Edinburgh's wealthy New Town.

However, as the formidable family patriarch, Jack Macarthur, lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the strict code of silence that has been crucial to their respectability... And as the stories of mistresses, illegitimate children, homosexuality and sadomasochism break in the press, the family struggles to lead its life in the public eye...

While in the heart of the storm, the beautiful Marianne Maclean, broken down by a destructive affair with Luke Macarthur; and his handsome cousin Ben Macarthur, once unconfident but now strengthened by adversity – and the only man Marianne had ever loved – find themselves swept up in the tide together...

Deliciously scandalous, intelligent and compulsively page-turning, this quality saga will delight readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for Other People's Rules:

'A clever story, a really good read' Rosamunde Pilcher

'First class story-telling. Other People's Rules is the best novel I've read since Captain Corelli's Mandolin... A really excellent novel.' Anne Weale

'A compelling thriller written about power and the way it can be abused.' Carla McKay, Daily Mail

'A real page turner.' Prima

'There's something deliciously Brideshead about this account of a nave young girl, falling in thrall to the aristocratic family she becomes briefly part of.' Daily Express

Praise for her writing:

‘A writer of the first rank – she is compellingly readable’ Evening Standard

‘A subtle pen and a belief in the affirmation of love’
Elizabeth Buchan, Mail on Sunday

‘A thoughtful, warm, articulate novelist’ Helen Dunmore, The Times

From the Back Cover:

Glamorous, rich and rife with secret scandal, the clannish Macarthur family, rarely out of the glossy pages of every high society magazine, reigns over Edinburgh's wealthy New Town. But as the formidable family patriarch, Jack Macarthur, lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the strict code of silence... And while stories of mistresses, illegitimate children, homosexuality and sadomasochism break in the press, the beautiful Marianne Maclean – broken down by a destructive affair with Luke Macarthur – and his handsome cousin Ben Macarthur, the only man Marianne had ever loved, find themselves swept up in the tide together...

Deliciously scandalous, intelligent and compulsively page-turning, this quality saga will delight readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hamilton, Julia
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reuseabook
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. Dispatched, from the UK, within 48 hours of ordering. This book is in good condition but will show signs of previous ownership. Please expect some creasing to the spine and/or minor damage to the cover. Bookseller Inventory # CHL1024143

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
1.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Motor City Books
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Bookseller Inventory # G0007114974I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Paperback. Book Condition: As New. Only slightly differentiated from a new book. Undamaged cover and spine. Pages may display light wear but no marks. Bookseller Inventory # G0007114974I2N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
3.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Julia Hamilfton
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Soft & Cuddlies
(Tamworth, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2002. Mass Market Paperback. Book Condition: Good+. 326 tight pages READING CREASES, LIGHT EDGE CORNER WEAR,. Bookseller Inventory # 025157

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins 05/06/2002 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 05/06/2002, 2002. Book Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007114979

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins 05/06/2002 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Quantity Available: 3
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 05/06/2002, 2002. Book Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780007114979

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins 05/06/2002 (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 05/06/2002, 2002. Book Condition: Good. This book is in good or better condition. It has no tears to the pages and no pages will be missing from the book. The spine of the book is still in great condition and the front cover is generally unmarked. It has signs of previous use but overall is in really nice, tight condition. Shipping is normally same day from our UK warehouse. We offer a money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780007114979

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Goldstone Books
(Ammanford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000944930

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goldstone Books
(Ammanford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002153724

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Julia Hamilton
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007114974 ISBN 13: 9780007114979
Used Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Book Condition: Very Good. 2002. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # KNW0005559

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
5.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book