South from Barbary: Along the Slave Routes of the Libyan Sahara

3.83 avg rating
( 18 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780006531173: South from Barbary: Along the Slave Routes of the Libyan Sahara

The stunning debut of a talented young travel writer.

‘South from Barbary’ – as 19th-century Europeans knew North Africa – is the compelling account of Justin Marozzi’s 1,500-mile journey by camel along the slave-trade routes of the Libyan Sahara.

Marozzi and his travelling companion Ned had never travelled in the desert, nor had they ridden camels before embarking on this expedition. Encouraged by a series of idiosyncratic Tuareg and Tubbu guides, they learnt the full range of desert survival skills, including how to master their five faithful camels.

The caravan of two explorers, five camels with distinctive personalities and their guides undertook a gruelling journey across some of the most inhospitable territory on earth. Despite threats from Libyan officialdom and the ancient, natural hardships of the desert, Marozzi and Ned found themselves growing ever closer to the land and its people.

More than a travelogue, ‘South from Barbary’ is a fascinating history of Saharan exploration and efforts by early British explorers to suppress the African slave trade. It evokes the poetry and solitude of the desert, the companionship of man and beast, the plight of a benighted nation, and the humour and generosity of its resilient people.

Written with infectious wit and insight, and a terrific historical grasp, this is a superbly readable travel book about a rarely visited but enthralling and immensely beautiful region of the world.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Camel journeys may belong to a bygone era, but the British have long had an affinity with the resilient animals. With South from Barbary, Justin Marozzi becomes the latest writer to follow in the tradition of Wilfred Thesiger and Michael Asher. Having known Libya since a young age, Marozzi set out two years ago to cross the Libyan Sahara by camel. Travelling with a friend, Ned, five camels and a succession of guides, Marozzi crossed 1150 miles of the great desert.

Travel books usually benefit from the author having more than a passing knowledge of a place. Unfortunately, however, although Marozzi's debut is strong on Saharan cultures and early European explorers, he has an awkward prose style that tends to be over-laden with adverbs, adjectives and discordant similes. He also has a rosy-eyed view of the history of British involvement with the slave trade, waxing lyrical over 19th century attempts to suppress the trade while largely ignoring the fact that Britain was the leading beneficiary of the Atlantic trade throughout the 18th century.

That is not to say that the book is without merit. In the second half the story picks up, and the prose becomes less stodgy. The desert journey appears to improve Marozzi's qualities of empathy, and he is never less than honest about the behaviour of Ned and himself. In the end, though, South From Barbary seems to be an opportunity missed. Although Marozzi's work is erudite on Libya's history, room remains for a book that deals more richly with the nature of modern Libya. --Toby Green

From the Back Cover:

'"In one of Tripoli's only English-language bookshops I picked up the book that thrust the desert before me in all its guises. Here was silence and loneliness, the glory of wide African skies, unbroken plains of sand and rock, loyalty and companionship, adventure treachery and betrayal."'

For six years after reading the account of the British North African expedition of 1818-20, Justin Marozzi had longed to cross the Libyan Sahara. Captivated by the beauty of this little-known country on his first visit to Tripoli, he vowed to return to explore its vast desert along the old slave-trade routes. 'South from Barbary' – as nineteenth century Europeans knew North Africa – is the compelling story of his 1,500 – mile journey.

Setting off from Tripoli, Marozzi and his travelling companion, Ned, headed first to the ancient oasis of Ghadames on an improbable mission to purchase camels and find a guide willing to forego the comforts of a four-wheel drive for the hardship of an extended camel trek. Marozzi and Ned had never travelled in the desert, nor had they ridden camels before embarking on this expedition. Encouraged by a series of idiosyncratic Touareg and Tubbu guides, they learnt the full range of desert survival skills, including how to master their five faithful camels.

The caravan of two explorers, five camels with distinctive personalites and their guides undertook a gruelling journey across some of the most inhospitable territory on earth. Despite threats from Libyan officialdom and the ancient natural hardships of the desert, Marozzi and Ned found themselves growing ever closer to the land and its people.

More than a travelogue, 'South from Barbary' is a fascinating history of Saharan exploration and efforts by early British explorers to suppress the African slave trade. It evokes the poetry and solitude of the desert, the companionship of man and beast, the plight of a benighted nation, and the humour and generosity of its resilient people.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marozzi, Justin
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800065311730000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins UK (2002)
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0006531172

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2002)
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2002. Hardback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780006531173 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0976606

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.04
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins UK (2002)
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0006531172

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
17.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.23
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by Harper Uk (2003)
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Uk, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 320 pages. 7.50x5.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0006531172

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins UK (2002)
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2002. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-131-27-9023009

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.11
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins UK
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0006531172 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0001375

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
50.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Marozzi, Justin
ISBN 10: 0006531172 ISBN 13: 9780006531173
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800065311731.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
66.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.23
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds