Time

3.76 avg rating
( 5,628 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780006511823: Time

In the millennium's last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived ... so far.Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction.Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena's mission is diverted to investigate Earth's recently discovered - and very remote - second moon.What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time's river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena... but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Northumberland.

Review:

`Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars'The Times`Time is a big ambitious book... science fiction at its best'FHM`In Time Baxter manages to take the most esoteric cosmological ideas and mesh them into a fast-paced novel... Probably the most thought-provoking writing you'll read this year, it's time for Baxter to take his place alongside Asimov and Heinlein'Edge

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the millennium s last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived . so far.Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction.Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena s mission is diverted to investigate Earth s recently discovered - and very remote - second moon.What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time s river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena. but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780006511823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Voyager (2010)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000512546

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the millennium s last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived . so far.Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction.Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena s mission is diverted to investigate Earth s recently discovered - and very remote - second moon.What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time s river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena. but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780006511823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Harper Voyager 2010-10-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager 2010-10-04, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-HCL-00013847

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperVoyager (2010)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperVoyager, 2010. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780006511823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Harper Voyager
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 14
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Voyager. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780006511823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Stephen Baxter
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0006511821. Bookseller Inventory # ST0006511821

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stephen Baxter
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; In the millennium's last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived . so far.Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780006511823_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2000. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0006511821

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2000. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # GB-9780006511823

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book