Stephen Baxter Time

ISBN 13: 9780006511823

Time

3.76 avg rating
( 5,953 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780006511823: Time
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In the millennium’s last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived ... so far.

Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction.

Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena’s mission is diverted to investigate Earth’s recently discovered – and very remote – second moon.

What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time’s river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena... but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Stephen Baxter, Britain's foremost author of "hard" SF rooted in real physics, is renowned for thinking big. Time begins with a US entrepreneur's deceptively low-key plans to reclaim space and exploit the asteroids, bypassing NASA's bureaucracy and safety regulations. One bizarre cost-cutting measure: the "Big Dumb Booster" pilot is a genetically enhanced, intelligent squid. Then the mission is redirected following a weird mathematical prediction that humanity hasn't long to live, and a "Feynman radio" transmission from the future that highlights a particular asteroid. Here a space-time gateway opens on unimaginably distant futures, stepping far beyond the dying sun of Wells's The Time Machine to visions of a galaxy reshaped by humanity to hoard its energy ... beyond stars, beyond black holes, beyond even mass. And the emerging message, seen most clearly by a new generation of persecuted, ultra-gifted children, is that this seeming triumph--this total exploitation of our universe's possibilities--isn't good enough. A better path awaits, via a cataclysm that dwarfs mere supernova explosions... Baxter pays homage to the transformations of Clarke's Childhood's End (there's also a nod to 2001), but without the mysticism: it's all respectable, if speculative, physics. His final, devastating payoff makes sequels seem impossible. Two are planned. Rousing stuff, on a cosmic scale. --David Langford

Review:

‘Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars’
The Times

‘Time is a big ambitious book... science fiction at its best’
FHM

‘In Time Baxter manages to take the most esoteric cosmological ideas and mesh them into a fast-paced novel... Probably the most thought-provoking writing you’ll read this year, it’s time for Baxter to take his place alongside Asimov and Heinlein’
Edge

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780008134464: Time (Manifold Trilogy)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0008134464 ISBN 13:  9780008134464
Publisher: HARPER COLLINS, 2015
Softcover

9780002257688: Time (Voyager)

Voyager, 1999
Hardcover

9780345430762: Manifold: Time (Manifold (Paperback))

Del Re..., 2000
Softcover

9780002247245: Time

Voyager, 1999
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Voyager (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager, 2000. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 464 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # zk0006511821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by HarperCollins (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2000. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110006511821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
33.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stephen Baxter
Published by HarperCollins (2000)
ISBN 10: 0006511821 ISBN 13: 9780006511823
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2000. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0006511821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
52.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds