Linden MacIntyre Long Stretch

ISBN 13: 9780006395836

Long Stretch

3.46 avg rating
( 293 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780006395836: Long Stretch

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex andpainful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget.

Taut and brilliantly paced, The Long Stretch is etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

LINDEN MACINTYRE is one of Canada’s most distinguished broadcast journalists. The winner of nine Gemini Awards, he is the co-host of CBC Television’s the fifth estate, and has been involved in the production of documentaries and stories from all over the world. MacIntyre was born in St. Lawrence, Newfoundland, and grew up in Port Hastings, Cape Breton. He now lives in Toronto.

Review:

“[A] stylistically assured and mature first novel.” (Toronto Star)

“MacIntyre conveys the language and the landscape of Cape Breton very effectively. . . . Evokes the complex relations that can draw families together and yet slowly drive them apart.” (Quill & Quire)

“I can’t tell you enough how much I absolutely love this book. . . . If you live in Cape Breton or Newfoundland, you’re going to love this book. . . . I did not want to put it down.” (Candy Palmater, The Candy Show)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Macintyre, Linden
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 000639583X ISBN 13: 9780006395836
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 000639583X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Linden MacIntyre
Published by Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 000639583X ISBN 13: 9780006395836
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M000639583X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
19.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds