South from Barbary: Along the Slave Routes of the Libyan Sahara

3.83 avg rating
( 18 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780002570534: South from Barbary: Along the Slave Routes of the Libyan Sahara

The stunning debut of a talented young travel writer.

South from Barbary – as nineteenth-century Europeans knew North Africa – is the compelling account of Justin Marozzi’s 1,500-mile journey by camel along the slave-trade routes of the Libyan Sahara.

Marozzi and his travelling companion Ned had never travelled in the desert, nor had they ridden camels before embarking on this expedition. Encouraged by a series of idiosyncratic Touareg and Tubbu guides, they learnt the full range of desert survival skills, including how to master their five faithful camels.

The caravan of two explorers, five camels with distinctive personalities and their guides undertook a gruelling journey across some of the most inhospitable territory on earth. Despite threats from Libyan officialdom and the ancient, natural hardships of the desert, Marozzi and Ned found themselves growing ever closer to the land and its people.

More than a travelogue, South from Barbary is a fascinating history of Saharan exploration and efforts by early British explorers to suppress the African slave trade. It evokes the poetry and solitude of the desert, the companionship of man and beast, the plight of a benighted nation, and the humour and generosity of its resilient people.

Written with infectious wit and insight, and a terrific historical grasp, this is a superbly readable travel book about a rarely visited but enthralling and immensely beautiful region of the world.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Camel journeys may belong to a bygone era, but the British have long had an affinity with the resilient animals. With South from Barbary, Justin Marozzi becomes the latest writer to follow in the tradition of Wilfred Thesiger and Michael Asher. Having known Libya since a young age, Marozzi set out two years ago to cross the Libyan Sahara by camel. Travelling with a friend, Ned, five camels and a succession of guides, Marozzi crossed 1150 miles of the great desert.

Travel books usually benefit from the author having more than a passing knowledge of a place. Unfortunately, however, although Marozzi's debut is strong on Saharan cultures and early European explorers, he has an awkward prose style that tends to be over-laden with adverbs, adjectives and discordant similes. He also has a rosy-eyed view of the history of British involvement with the slave trade, waxing lyrical over 19th century attempts to suppress the trade while largely ignoring the fact that Britain was the leading beneficiary of the Atlantic trade throughout the 18th century.

That is not to say that the book is without merit. In the second half the story picks up, and the prose becomes less stodgy. The desert journey appears to improve Marozzi's qualities of empathy, and he is never less than honest about the behaviour of Ned and himself. In the end, though, South From Barbary seems to be an opportunity missed. Although Marozzi's work is erudite on Libya's history, room remains for a book that deals more richly with the nature of modern Libya. --Toby Green

From the Back Cover:

'"In one of Tripoli's only English-language bookshops I picked up the book that thrust the desert before me in all its guises. Here was silence and loneliness, the glory of wide African skies, unbroken plains of sand and rock, loyalty and companionship, adventure treachery and betrayal."'

For six years after reading the account of the British North African expedition of 1818-20, Justin Marozzi had longed to cross the Libyan Sahara. Captivated by the beauty of this little-known country on his first visit to Tripoli, he vowed to return to explore its vast desert along the old slave-trade routes. 'South from Barbary' – as nineteenth century Europeans knew North Africa – is the compelling story of his 1,500 – mile journey.

Setting off from Tripoli, Marozzi and his travelling companion, Ned, headed first to the ancient oasis of Ghadames on an improbable mission to purchase camels and find a guide willing to forego the comforts of a four-wheel drive for the hardship of an extended camel trek. Marozzi and Ned had never travelled in the desert, nor had they ridden camels before embarking on this expedition. Encouraged by a series of idiosyncratic Touareg and Tubbu guides, they learnt the full range of desert survival skills, including how to master their five faithful camels.

The caravan of two explorers, five camels with distinctive personalites and their guides undertook a gruelling journey across some of the most inhospitable territory on earth. Despite threats from Libyan officialdom and the ancient natural hardships of the desert, Marozzi and Ned found themselves growing ever closer to the land and its people.

More than a travelogue, 'South from Barbary' is a fascinating history of Saharan exploration and efforts by early British explorers to suppress the African slave trade. It evokes the poetry and solitude of the desert, the companionship of man and beast, the plight of a benighted nation, and the humour and generosity of its resilient people.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins 08/05/2001 (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 08/05/2001, 2001. Book Condition: used-good. GREAT BOOK IN GOOD OR BETTER CONDITION, NORMALLY SENT SAME DAY FROM WAREHOUSE. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780002570534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used; Good. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001657428

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins 08/05/2001 (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 08/05/2001, 2001. Book Condition: used-good. - GREAT BOOK IN GOOD OR BETTER CONDITION, NORMALLY SENT SAME DAY FROM WAREHOUSE. Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780002570534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins 08/05/2001 (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 08/05/2001, 2001. Book Condition: used-good. - GREAT BOOK IN GOOD OR BETTER CONDITION, NORMALLY SENT SAME DAY FROM WAREHOUSE. Bookseller Inventory # 9053-9780002570534

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by HarperCollins (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goldstone Books
(Ammanford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. No Dustjacket. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002203800

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.38
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Marozzi, Justin
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR003791585

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by London HarperCollinsPublishers (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Handsworth Books PBFA
(Woodford Green, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description London HarperCollinsPublishers, 2001. 8vo, x, 355pp, Illustrated, Hardback with Dust Jacket both in Very Good condition. Bookseller Inventory # 11112

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
8.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.95
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by Harper Collins (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Mike Conry
(WORCESTER, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, 2001. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. 1st Edition. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-10922770215

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.35
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by London HarperCollins (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Tweedside Books
(MELROSE, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description London HarperCollins, 2001. First edition in fine condition, in fine unclipped dustjacket. (Book ref 3461). Bookseller Inventory # 1540

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.95
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Marozzi, Justin
Published by London HarperCollins (2001)
ISBN 10: 000257053X ISBN 13: 9780002570534
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Tom Coleman
(Dingwall, ROSS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description London HarperCollins, 2001. FIRST EDITION. First Impression. Hardback. Size 9.5 x 6 inches. Black cloth with gilt titles. Endpaper maps. No inscriptions. Illustrated with photographic plates. 355 pages including index and bibliography. Fine in Fine un-price-clipped dustwrapper. 'Brave, romantic erudite and humane; a genuinely remarkable debut'. William Dalrymple. Bookseller Inventory # 10031

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.35
Within United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book