The Collected Speeches of Margaret Thatcher

4.34 avg rating
( 32 ratings by Goodreads )
9780002557030: The Collected Speeches of Margaret Thatcher

Following the worldwide success of her memoirs "The Downing Street Years" and "The Path to Power", this is a collection of all the significant speeches of Margaret Thatcher's career, from her maiden speech as the young MP for Finchley in 1959 to the headline-making Keith Joseph Memorial Address which she gave in January 1996. In between are the landmarks - the speech in Brighton on the morning after the IRA bomb, the Bruges Speech, the titanic resignation speech in the Commons - and the smaller speeches which are nevertheless intensely revealing of the character and beliefs of their author. This volume forms a companion to the two volumes of Margaret Thatcher's memoirs.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

By the time she stepped down in 1990, Margaret Thatcher had become one of her generation's outstanding political leaders, and perhaps the most powerful woman in the world. Possessing an iron will, she matched words with action in confronting the crises of the day in economic affairs, in the Falklands War, in Northern Ireland, in the great twilight struggle of the Cold War and finally in Europe. Under her leadership, Britain broke out of its decline and self-doubt to emerge once more as a major player on the international stage.

Margaret Thatcher put intense effort into her major speeches. As a result, they are uniquely revealing of how she developed that clear vision which would transform Britain and help shape international politics in the late 20th century. They begin with the speeches she made as part of her campaign to mold the ideas of the Conservative Party in Opposition. They continue with the famous addresses in which she expressed her convictions as prime minister and include recent lectures in which she gives her current, and controversial, thoughts about the world today.

This book of speeches is an essential companion volume to the two books of Margaret Thatcher's memoirs, as well as a masterly study of one of the great political figures of our time.

About the Author:

Born in 1925, Margaret Thatcher rose to become the first woman to lead a major Western democracy. She won three successive general elections and served as prime minister for more than eleven years, from 1979 to 1990, a record unmatched in the twentieth century.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want