Dimmick, Barbara In the Presence of Horses

ISBN 13: 9780002257749

In the Presence of Horses

3.35 avg rating
( 139 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002257749: In the Presence of Horses

A novel of real quality and wide potential appeal about a woman, gifted with horses, who is on the run from life, but forced to come to terms with her tragic past.

For the last twenty years horsetrainer Natalie Baxter has been drifting and travelling, unwilling to put down any roots and shunning proximity to people. A loner, she has a special gift – a natural affinity with horses, the beautiful, mysterious creatures whose presence gives her the peace, security and strength she has yet to find elsewhere.

It is when she takes a job near the Pennsylvanian town where she grew up that her life suddenly changes course. Never has she felt so pulled by a place and its people: the eccentric owner whose sister’s memory still haunts the stables, the local vet who immediately recognizes Natalie’s exceptional qualities, the pupils who demand that she teaches them and, everywhere, childhood memories flooding her consciousness.

Gradually, Natalie begins to examine the tragic circumstances of her past. And, just when she is thinking it is time to move on, she is forced to re-evaluate everything she believes – about herself, her family and those around her. One long journey has ended, and another is about to begin…

Emotionally impactful, beautifully written, IN THE PRESENCE OF HORSES is an entrancing story of the almost mystical healing power of horses over emotionally damaged people, as well as a compelling portrayal of commitment and betrayal.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

‘Dimmick will keep readers intrigued… Natalie’s coming to terms with her life, and her jolting ride toward redemption turn out to be absorbing’
Publishers Weekly

‘Far more evocative and beautifully written than [The Horse Whisperer], and stays with the reader long after the final page is turned… a completely engrossing debut novel’
Aberdeen Press & Journal

From the Back Cover:

A novel of real quality about a woman who is on the run, but forced to come to terms with her tragic past, in the tradition of Anne Tyler and Jane Smiley.

Natalie Baxter is a gifted horsewoman in her thirties. For years she has been on the move, training horses and running from disappointments involving her family and friends – sustained only by the presence of horses. It is when she takes a job caring for a half dozen horses on emotionally damaged people, as well as a compelling portrayal of commitment and betrayal.

Emotionally impactful, beautifully written, ' In the Presence of Horses ' is an entrancing story of the almost mystical healing power of horses on emotionally damaged people, as well as a compelling portrayal of commitment and betrayal.

Barbara Dimmick is a teacher of creative writing and herself an experienced horsewomen. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

BARBARA DIMMICK
Published by Flamingo (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002257742 ISBN 13: 9780002257749
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookbarn International
(Bristol, SOM, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Dust Jacket Included. Sent within 24 hours. Expedited UK delivery available. Ex Library. 343 pages; Used but in Very Good condition, may show a little wear. Internally good. Bookseller Inventory # BBI60354

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dimmick, Barbara
Published by Flamingo (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002257742 ISBN 13: 9780002257749
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goldstone Books
(Ammanford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book. Has usual library markings and stamps inside. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002255894

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds