In the Presence of Horses: A Novel.

3.34 avg rating
( 145 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002257749: In the Presence of Horses: A Novel.

A moving, powerful novel of a woman coming to terms with her past -- for readers of Jane Hamilton and Barbara Kingsolver.

Throughout her life Natalie Baxter has lost everyone she has ever cared for, and after losing her faith in people she returns to her hometown of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and takes a job at a local horse ranch. Caring for a fiery true black mare named Twister, she slowly begins to find courage to return to the world. And when a gradual romance builds between Natalie and farm's strangely reclusive owner, Pierce, she is forced to confront the ghosts of her traumatic past.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

"In the Presence of Horses is elegantly written, dares to call loss by its true name, dares, ultimately, to meet it head on." --Janet Peery, author of The River Beyond the World

"All the traditional lingo and lore tucked into Barbara Dimmick's first novel is evidence of her inspired pursuit of her favorite animal, the horse. Luckily, she's equally good at depicting human characters." --Sally Eckhoff, The New York Times Book Review

"It's been a long time since I've read a well-written novel about horses that was salted with equine details right on target.... Dimmick really knows her stuff.... Instantly puts In the Presence of Horses heads above Nicholas Evans' The Horse Whisperer." --The Orlando Sentinel

"Dimmick will keep readers intrigued as she injects suspenseful incidents into the narrative.... Absorbing." --Publishers Weekly

From the Inside Flap:

Over the course of her adolescence, Natalie lost everyone that had ever mattered to her--her beloved aunt, her father, her troubled but brilliant sister. Retreating from people and the complexities of relationships, at the age of sixteen she turned to the horse world, immersing herself in the rituals and routines of the barn and moving on to another farm and another set of horses whenever she began to lose her grip on her essential mantra: nothing really matters.

As In the Presence of Horses begins, Natalie takes a new position, this time on a farm near her childhood home of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. At first it seems like this will be a job like any other, but as the rolling hills of this familiar landscape begin to evoke long-buried memories, Natalie meets a horse who will change her life forever. His name is Twister: a big, true black with awkward hocks and a disquieting presence. Riding him, Natalie slowly learns to feel again, and as she learns to feel, she will finally need to face the demons of her past and remember how to love.

In the Presence of Horses is a marvelous depiction of both loss and how one woman comes to terms with it, and of the way in which interaction with animals and landscape can help to heal. Both beautifully done and moving, the novel mixes poignance with solid storytelling in a manner reminiscent of Jane Smiley and Barbara Kingsolver.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

BARBARA DIMMICK
Published by Flamingo (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002257742 ISBN 13: 9780002257749
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookbarn International
(Bristol, SOM, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Dust Jacket Included. Sent within 24 hours. Expedited UK delivery available. Ex Library. 343 pages; Used but in Very Good condition, may show a little wear. Internally good. Bookseller Inventory # BBI60354

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Dimmick, Barbara
Published by Flamingo (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002257742 ISBN 13: 9780002257749
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book. Has usual library markings and stamps inside. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002255894

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
0.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Barbara Dimmick
Published by Flamingo 19/10/1998 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002257742 ISBN 13: 9780002257749
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo 19/10/1998, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # 6545-9780002257749

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Barbara Dimmick
Published by Flamingo (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002257742 ISBN 13: 9780002257749
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. In the Presence of Horses This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Bookseller Inventory # 7719-9780002257749

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds