Time : Manifold I - SIGNED

3.75 avg rating
( 5,404 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002257688: Time : Manifold I - SIGNED

In the millennium's last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived ... so far.Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction.Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena's mission is diverted to investigate Earth's recently discovered - and very remote - second moon.What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time's river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena... but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Northumberland.

Review:

`Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars'The Times`Time is a big ambitious book... science fiction at its best'FHM`In Time Baxter manages to take the most esoteric cosmological ideas and mesh them into a fast-paced novel... Probably the most thought-provoking writing you'll read this year, it's time for Baxter to take his place alongside Asimov and Heinlein'Edge

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Voyager / HarperCollins (1999)
ISBN 10: 0002257688 ISBN 13: 9780002257688
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager / HarperCollins, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110002257688

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
43.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Voyager / HarperCollins (1999)
ISBN 10: 0002257688 ISBN 13: 9780002257688
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager / HarperCollins, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 2257688

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
92.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Voyager / HarperCollins 1999-01-01 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0002257688 ISBN 13: 9780002257688
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager / HarperCollins 1999-01-01, 1999. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Printing. 0002257688 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0002257688

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
129.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds