James Long Ferney

ISBN 13: 9780002252287

Ferney

3.99 avg rating
( 881 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002252287: Ferney

One of the most brilliant timeslip novels ever written,Ferney will appeal to fans of The Time Traveller's Wife and Life After Life. When Mike and Gally Martin move to a cottage in Somerset, it's to make a new start. But the relationship comes under strain when Gally forms an increasingly close attachment to an old countryman, Ferney, who seems to know everything about her. What is it that draws them together? Reluctantly at first, then with more urgency as he feels time slipping away, Ferney compels Gally to understand their connection - and to face an inexplicable truth about their shared past. A passionate love story that spans the centuries, fall under the spell of Ferney.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Though Gally Martin has the unfailing love and support of her husband Mike, she has always known a deep yearning for something else. When Mike and Gally pass through the small country village of Penselwood on a house-hunting excursion, they discover an abandoned house and an elderly neighbor named Ferney. The moment Gally sees Ferney and the home, she feels the tremors of a long-dormant emotion stirring in her core. Desperate soothe the anxieties that have always haunted Gally--and overlooking the strange Ferney--Mike agrees to buy the dilapidated home.

While the house seems to bring Gally a newfound sense of stability, she is alternately intrigued and troubled by the aged Ferney--she feels an enormous pull toward him but cannot understand his allure or her growing sense of betrayal. How can she be so attracted to such a strange, older man? When Ferney begins to tell Gally of his past, she feels her confusion growing. He describes a mysterious relationship that transcends time, a connection stronger than that of siblings or even lovers. Unable to reject his words or ignore the ephemeral evidence in her own memory, Gally must test her heart and wager her destiny.

Merrily skipping along the history of the past millennium, James Long's Ferney spends just enough time in each significant historical period to have the immortal lovers unite, experience the pertinent social or political issues of the day, and pass on. Frank dialogue, rich descriptions, and the exploration of the concepts and consequence of destiny make this novel a special treat for the head as well as the heart. --Nancy R.E. O'Brien

From the Inside Flap:

A novel for anyone who's ever believed that two people are destined for each other, that passion has no end, and that true love never dies...
It was an accidental detour inspired by one of Gally's frequent panic attacks that sent her husband, Mike, down a twisting lane to the abandoned country cottage. From the moment she saw it, Gally felt a peace she hadn't known in years and the inexplicable sense that she had finally come home. As her husband works at their new home's restoration, Gally finds herself growing unexpectedly close to an eighty-three-year-old man named Ferney. How could she become so attached to a virtual stranger? And why does Ferney seem to know her better than she knows herself? Through Ferney's old stories Gally finds herself transported to a distant past where two lovers made a vow even death could not break. Soon Gally will face a life-and-death dilemma that has followed her and Ferney down through the centuries. It will be a moment of decision that will forever change not only their lives but the lives of all they touch.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

James Long
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002252287 ISBN 13: 9780002252287
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0002252287

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
125.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds