Garner, Alan Fairytales of Gold

ISBN 13: 9780001952638

Fairytales of Gold

3.33 avg rating
( 7 ratings by GoodReads )
9780001952638: Fairytales of Gold

A collection of fairy tales including "The Girl of the Golden Gate" and "The Girl With the Golden Mane".

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Alan Garner is the acclaimed author of haunting classics of fantasy and myth. His writing has a universal appeal and early in his career won him two prestigious literary prizes – The Guardian Award and The Carnegie Medal. 'Fairytales of Gold' is his youngest book, appealing to pre-school children as well as beginner readers.

Michael Forman was first associated with Alan Garner when he illustrated the four individual titles in Garner's 'Stone Book Quartet,' which won the Phoenix award in 1995.

When Alan Garner's 'Fairytales of Gold' was first published it was appreciated for all the best reasons.

"A well-known storyteller has used his unparalleled knowledge of traditional fairytale material and created four new stories for a young audience. All four tales have a strong dramatic quality which is enhanced by Michael Foreman's hauntingly beautiful illustrations. Children and adults will like these tales equally well…"
'Reading for Enjoyment'

"Only a writer of Alan Garner's stature could have taken the elements of traditional fairy tales and 'magicked' them together into four such highly original stories. Vivid images are conveyed in language in which every word is made to count and there is never one too many. It is impossible in a brief review to convey the power of the force behind these stories…"
'Books for your Children'

"…the best thing that Garner has done since 'The Owl Service' – insofar as they really are for children."
'Recent Children's Fiction,'

"…will be treasured by anyone lucky enough to own it."
'Children's Books of the Year'

About the Author:

Alan Garner was born and still lives in Cheshire, an area which has had a profound effect on his writing and provided the seed of many ideas worked out in his books.

His fourth book, ‘The Owl Service’ brought Alan Garner to everyone’s attention. It won two important literary prizes – The Guardian Award and the Carnegie Medal – and was made into a serial by Granada Television. It has established itself as a classic and Alan Garner as a writer of great distinction.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Garner, Alan
Published by Picture Lions (1989)
ISBN 10: 0001952633 ISBN 13: 9780001952638
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Picture Lions, 1989. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0001952633

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds