Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany

Buford, Bill

9781400041206

ISBN 10: 1400041201 / 1-4000-4120-1
ISBN 13: 9781400041206
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Publication Date: 2006
Binding: Hardcover
Editorial Reviews for this title:
Synopsis:
Bill Buford—author of the highly acclaimed best-selling Among the Thugs—had long thought of himself as a reasonably comfortable cook when in 2002 he finally decided to answer a question that had nagged him every time he prepared a meal: What kind of cook could he be if he worked in a professional kitchen? When the opportunity arose to train in the kitchen of Mario Batali’s three-star New York restaurant, Babbo, Buford grabbed it. Heat is the chronicle—sharp, funny, wonderfully exuberant—of his time spent as Batali’s “slave” and of his far-flung apprenticeships with culinary masters in Italy.

In a fast-paced, candid narrative, Buford describes the frenetic experience of working in Babbo’s kitchen: the trials and errors (and more errors), humiliations and hopes, disappointments and triumphs as he worked his way up the ladder from slave to cook. He talks about his relationships with his kitchen colleagues and with the larger-than-life, hard-living Batali, whose story he learns as their friendship grows through (and sometimes despite) kitchen encounters and after-work all-nighters.

Buford takes us to the restaurant in a remote Appennine village where Batali first apprenticed in Italy and where Buford learns the intricacies of handmade pasta . . . the hill town in Chianti where he is tutored in the art of butchery by Italy’s most famous butcher, a man who insists that his meat is an expression of the Italian soul . . . to London, where he is instructed in the preparation of game by Marco Pierre White, one of England’s most celebrated (or perhaps notorious) chefs. And throughout, we follow the thread of Buford’s fascinating reflections on food as a bearer of culture, on the history and development of a few special dishes (Is the shape of tortellini really based on a woman’s navel? And just what is a short rib?), and on the what and why of the foods we eat today.

Heat is a marvelous hybrid: a richly evocative memoir of Buford’s kitchen adventure, the story of Batali’s amazing rise to culinary (and extra-culinary) fame, a dazzling behind-the-scenes look at the workings of a famous restaurant, and an illuminating exploration of why food matters.

It is a book to delight in—and to savor.

Review:
"Gastro-memoirs can be clichéd, but Bill Buford has injected lyricism and authenticity into the format." -- Vogue Magazine

"It’s funny and very well-written." -- The Observer

"a story of seared flesh and unadulterated pork butchery"
-- Scotsman: Saturday Fiction Round Up. Rev by Elizabeth Luard

'The author is a world-class wordsmith.' -- The Economist

'one of the most evocative testaments to our - and his - current obsession.' - Steven Shaplin -- London Review of Books

Heat brims with fascinating observations on cooking, incredible characters, useful discourse and argument-ending arcania. -- Anthony Bourdain on Amazon.com

crackles with energy, erudition and cinematic narration
-- Financial Times

‘Funny, well written and slightly exhausting’ -- The Observer

‘It’s a messy, brilliant book, a high brow kitchen soap opera…’ -- The Telegraph, July 15th 2006

‘a dazzling and fun account of two magnificently mad years’. -- The Guardian, July 15th 2006

Review

Review:
In the tradition of Orwell's Down and Out in Paris and London and Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential, a brilliant book about working in the kitchen of one of New York's most fashionable restaurants and with one of its most charismatic chefs.

From the Publisher

Editorial reviews may belong to another edition of this title.
 

Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany: Search Results

1.
Heat An Amateurs Adventures as Kitchen Slave Line Cook Pasta Maker and Apprentice to a Dante Quoting Butcher in Tuscany (ISBN: 9781400041206)
Buford, Bill
ISBN 10: 1400041201
ISBN 13: 9781400041206
Bookseller: Castle Rock (Amherst, NS, Canada)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New * All orders are processed and shipped from Las Vegas, NV USA *. Bookseller Inventory # 97814000412061.0

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: £ 12.73
Convert Currency
Shipping: £ 2.48
From Canada to U.S.A.
2.
Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Qu (ISBN: 1400041201 / 1-4000-4120-1)
Buford, Bill
ISBN 10: 1400041201
ISBN 13: 9781400041206
Bookseller: Murray Media (MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating
Quantity Available: 2

Book Description: Knopf. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111400041201

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: £ 23.90
Convert Currency
Shipping: £ 2.48
Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book