Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9780141034591

The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas

Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
9780141034591: The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable

A condensed guide to life from the bestselling author of The Black Swan, Nassim Nicholas Taleb's The Bed of Procrustes is an invaluable collection of aphorisms navigate the modern world

Why are we so often unwilling to accept that life is unpredictable? In this brilliant book Nassim Nicholas Taleb distils his idiosyncratic wisdom to demolish our illusions, contrasting the classical values of courage, elegance and erudition against modern philistinism and phoniness. Only by accepting what we don't know, he shows, can we see the world as it really is.

'Happily provocative ... blistering ... his observations concern superiority, wealth, suckerdom, academia, modernity, technology and the all-purpose, ignorant "they" ... very quotable'
  The New York Times

'A master philosopher'
  The Times

'Taleb's crystalline nuggets of thought stand alone like esoteric poems'
  Financial Times

'Opinionated and witty ... It showcases his wit and learning, and provides ways to fillet his enemies'
  Independent on Sunday

Nassim Nicholas Taleb spends most of his time as a flâneur, meditating in cafés across the planet. A former trader, he is currently Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at New York University. He is the author of Fooled by Randomness and The Black Swan, an international bestseller which has become an intellectual, social, and cultural touchstone.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Great fun . brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling ( Freakonomics)

An idiosyncratically brilliant new book ( Sunday Telegraph)

A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected ( Guardian)

Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling ( Financial Times)

Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot ( Sunday Times)

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point ( Time)

From the Publisher:

Shortlisted for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award 2007

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

International Edition
International Edition

1.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
International Edition
Seller
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. Book Condition: New. 0141034599 International Edition, Brand New, Same Title, Author and Edition as listed. ISBN is the same as listed. Standard Delivery within 4-7 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE via DHL/FedEx. International Edition Textbooks may bear a label "Not for sale in the U.S. or Canada" or "For sale in Asia only" or similar restrictions- printed only to discourage students from obtaining an affordable copy. Access code/CD may not provided with these editions. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe, including India depending upon the availability of inventory. Paperback Printed in English. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # I07_9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books Ltd, United Kingdom, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Trade Paperback.. 208 x 128 mm. Language: English Brand New Book. A condensed guide to life from the bestselling author of The Black Swan , Nassim Nicholas Taleb s The Bed of Procrustes is an invaluable collection of aphorisms navigate the modern world. Why are we so often unwilling to accept that life is unpredictable? In this brilliant book Nassim Nicholas Taleb distils his idiosyncratic wisdom to demolish our illusions, contrasting the classical values of courage, elegance and erudition against modern philistinism and phoniness. Only by accepting what we don t know, he shows, can we see the world as it really is. Happily provocative .blistering .his observations concern superiority, wealth, suckerdom, academia, modernity, technology and the all-purpose, ignorant they .very quotable . ( The New York Times ). A master philosopher . ( The Times ). Taleb s crystalline nuggets of thought stand alone like esoteric poems . ( Financial Times ). Opinionated and witty.It showcases his wit and learning, and provides ways to fillet his enemies . ( Independent on Sunday ). Nassim Nicholas Taleb spends most of his time as a flaneur, meditating in cafes across the planet. A former trader, he is currently Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at New York University. He is the author of Fooled by Randomness and The Black Swan , an international bestseller which has become an intellectual, social, and cultural touchstone. Bookseller Inventory # EAS9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. Book Condition: New. 0141034599 Brand New, Exactly same as described, Standard Delivery within 4-7 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE via DHL/FedEx. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe depending upon the availability of inventory. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # O7_9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0141034599 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # UGS-MRSH-1383

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.56
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 129mm x 198mm x 27mm. Paperback. A condensed guide to life from the bestselling author of The Black Swan, Nassim Nicholas Taleb's The Bed of Procrustes is an invaluable collection of aphorisms navigate the modern world. W.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 480 pages. 0.200. Bookseller Inventory # 9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin 2011-07-07 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin 2011-07-07, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-00404231

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. . . . . . Over 350,000 customers served online!. Bookseller Inventory # V9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Llandre, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000198756

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
Published by Penguin (2008)
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ExtremelyReliable
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0141034599

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.56
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Taleb, Nassim Nicholas Author
ISBN 10: 0141034599 ISBN 13: 9780141034591
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
English-Book-Service - A Fine Choice
(Waldshut-Tiengen, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Publisher/Verlag: Penguin UK | The Impact of the Highly Improbable. Winner of the Wirtschaftsbuchpreis Financial Times Deutschland getAbstract 2007 | Ein 'Black Swan' ist ein sehr unwahrscheinliches Ereignis mit drei Hauptcharakteristika: es ist nicht vorhersehbar, es hat massivste Auswirkungen, und es wird hinterher plötzlich als vorhersagbar und nicht überraschend dargestellt. | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 348 gr | 198x129x27 mm | 366 pp. Bookseller Inventory # K9780141034591

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.46
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book