Did you know that the self-help publishing industry is worth over $700 million annually? What makes that figure more amazing is that nine of the top ten selling self-help books for 2007 on AbeBooks were first published more than 5 years ago, and many of the books sold were cheap used copies not included in that figure. Of the 10 bestsellers most were recommended by or featured on Oprah. The top 10 bestselling Self-Help Books in 2007 on AbeBooks were...

1. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

Stephen Covey (1990)

Stephen Covey - The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People

Stephen R. Covey's incredibly successful book is a pathway to wisdom and power. It offers a revolutionary program to breaking the patterns of self-defeating behavior that keep us from achieving our goals and reaching our fullest potential, and describes how to replace them with a principle-focused approach to problem-solving.
Find this Book

6. Who Moved My Cheese? An Amazing Way to Deal with Change in your Work & in Your Life

Spencer Johnson (1998)

Spencer Johnson - Who Moved My Cheese?

From one of the world's acknowledged experts on management comes a charming parable filled with insights designed to help readers manage change quickly and prevail in changing times. Sometimes simple problems require simple answers. In just 96 pages, this humorous story uses simple metaphors and characters to encourage readers to embrace change and to adapt to new situations with an open mind and a motivated spirit.
Find this Book

2. The Purpose-Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For?

Rick Warren (2002)

Rick Warren - The Purpose-Driven Life

The Purpose-Driven Life is a blueprint for Christian living in the 21st century - a lifestyle based on Gods eternal purposes, not cultural values. Using over 1,200 scriptural quotes and references, it challenges the conventional definitions of worship, fellowship, discipleship, ministry, and evangelism. In the tradition of Oswald Chambers, Rick Warren offers distilled wisdom on the essence of what life is all about. This is a book of hope and challenge that you will read and re-read, and it will be a classic treasured by generations to come.
Find this Book

7. The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment

Eckhart Tolle (1999)

Eckhart Tolle - The Power of Now

It's no wonder that The Power of Now has sold over 2 million copies worldwide and has been translated into over 30 foreign languages. Much more than simple principles and platitudes, the book takes readers on an inspiring spiritual journey to find their true and deepest self and reach the ultimate in personal growth and spirituality: the discovery of truth and light. In the first chapter, Tolle introduces readers to enlightenment and its natural enemy, the mind.
Find this Book

3. The Secret

Rhonda Byrne (2006)

Rhonda Byrne - The Secret

Fragments of a Great Secret have been found in the oral traditions, in literature, in religions and philosophies throughout the centuries. For the first time, all the pieces of The Secret come together in an incredible revelation that will be life-transforming for all who experience it. In this book, you'll learn how to use The Secret in every aspect of your life -- money, health, relationships, happiness, and in every interaction you have in the world. You'll begin to understand the hidden, untapped power that's within you, and this revelation can bring joy to every aspect of your life.
Find this Book

 

8. Codependent No More: How to Stop Controlling Others and Start Caring for Yourself

Melody Beattie (1992)

Melody Beattie - Codependent No More

Three years on the New York Times bestseller list, Codependent No More first identified attitueds, feelings, and behaviors now recognized as hallmarks of codependency. Checklists, activities, and self-tests provide concrete tasks to help readers examine the nuances of codependency in their lives.
Find this Book

 

4. Rich Dad, Poor Dad: What the Rich Teach Their Kids About Money - that the Poor & Middle Class Do Not!

Robert T. Kiyosaki (2000)

Robert T. Kiyosaki - Rich Dad, Poor Dad

Personal-finance author and lecturer Robert Kiyosaki developed his unique economic perspective through exposure to a pair of disparate influences: his own highly educated but fiscally unstable father, and the multimillionaire eighth-grade dropout father of his closest friend. The lifelong monetary problems experienced by his "poor dad" (whose weekly paychecks, while respectable, were never quite sufficient to meet family needs) pounded home the counterpoint communicated by his "rich dad" (that "the poor and the middle class work for money," but "the rich have money work for them").
Find this Book

9. Getting the Love You Want: A Guide for Couples

Harville Hendrix (1990)

Harville Hendrix - Getting the Love You Want

Here is an extraordinary practical guide to resolving problems, using 16 exercises to enhance communication, stop self-defeating behavior, and achieve mutual emotional satisfaction. With Hendrix's advice, the all-too-common marital power struggle can be gradually transformed into a mutually beneficial process of spiritual and emotional growth.
Find this Book

5. The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate

Gary Chapman (1995)

Gary-Chapman-The Five Love Languages

In The Five Love Languages, you will find a couple's guide to help you work as a team. Before you know it, you'll learn to speak and understand the unique languages of love and effectively express your love as well as feel truly loved in return.
Find this Book

10. The Artist's Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity a Course in Discovering & Recovering Your Creative Self

Julia Cameron (1996)

Julia Cameron - The Artist's Way

The Artist's Way is the seminal book on the subject of creativity. An international bestseller, millions of readers have found it to be an invaluable guide to living the artist's life. Still as vital today-or perhaps even more so-than it was when it was first published one decade ago, it is a powerfully provocative and inspiring work.
Find this Book