Stock Image

The Dark Hills Divide *Signed 1st

Carman, Patrick

Published by Scholastic; Orchard Books, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2005
ISBN 10: 0439700930 / ISBN 13: 9780439700931
Used / Hard Cover / Quantity Available: 1
From Barbara Mader - Children's Books (University Place, WA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: 16.86
Convert Currency
Shipping: 3.68
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Dark Hills Divide *Signed 1st

Publisher: Scholastic; Orchard Books, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2005

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Dust Jacket Included

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: 1st Edition


First printing of the trade edition (previously self-published by author in different format). A perfectly crisp and unread copy, SIGNED AND DATED (3-14-05) on title page by the author. FINE. Jacket was not issued with this title. First Edition Stated; "1" in Number Line. Bookseller Inventory # 85031006

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.71 avg rating
(19,126 ratings)

Synopsis: An extraordinary debut weaving magic and heroism into a classic tale of good and evil, featuring a heroine you'll never forget.

Inquisitive twelve-year-old Alexa Daley is spending another summer in the walled town of Bridewell. This year, she is set on solving the mystery of what lies beyond the walls. Legend says the walls were built to keep out an unnamed evil that lurks in the forests and The Dark Hills. But what exactly is it that the townspeople are so afraid of?
As Alexa begins to unravel the truth, pushing beyond the protective barrier she's lived behind all her life, she discovers a strange and ancient enchantment -- and exposes a danger that could destroy everything she holds dear.

Review: Elyon is a land of dark hills, enchanted forests, and great walls that connect and encircle the cities of Lathbury, Turlock, Lunenburg, and Bridewell like spokes in a wagon wheel. On her annual summer trips to Bridewell with her father, the mayor of Lathbury, Alexa Daley spends much of her time dreaming of escape. Having lived within the walls all of her 12 years, she wants nothing more than to explore the uncharted wilderness beyond. But, the walls are heavily guarded, and frightening legends suggest that forests and hills are no place for a child--especially a young girl. When a mysterious conversation and an unfortunate accident put Alexa within reach of a way outside the wall, she must decide--heed the warnings of her elders, or satisfy her curiosity and unravel the mysteries of Elyon.

Told from the perspective of its smart, brave, and adventurous heroine, The Dark Hills Divide invites readers on a spectacular and mysterious quest that will appeal to boys, girls, and fans of both fiction and fantasy. Patrick Carman is a natural storyteller, and his delightful debut is full of mysterious plots, hidden passageways, and all manner of dastardly, hilarious, and noble characters. Perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling, Philip Pullman, and Cornelia Funke, The Dark Hills Divide is so compulsively readable that kids (and their parents) will be clamoring for the second book in the proposed trilogy, Beyond the Valley of Thorns, due in 2005. --Daphne Durham Exclusive Content
Welcome to the Land of Elyon: Meet the Characters

Alexa Daley
The daughter of the mayor of Lathbury, Alexa is a curious, strong-willed, courageous twelve-year-old who acquires a stone of great power, and investigates and uncovers a terrible secret.

The mysterious little man (not more than 2 feet tall) of the old mountain who befriends Alexa Daley on her journey outside the wall. Yipes introduces her to Darius, setting her on an amazing adventure.
An enormous wolf with a mysterious past, Darius is tasked with escorting Alexa to a meeting in the forest, and taking her to the dark tunnel where a secret is revealed.

Pervis Kotcher
Pervis, the crafty head of the guards in Bridewell, protects the city from the evil dangers he is convinced lurk outside the walls. He is a man with many secrets, great ambition, and a strong dislike for Alexa.

Sam and Pepper
Sam and Pepper live in the library, and curl up with Alexa while she reads and naps in her favorite chair. Alexa soon learns that these cuddly cats are not what they seem--they hide secrets of their own.

Thomas Warvold
The architect and founder of the walled cities, Warvold was an adventerous wanderer who traveled far and wide in the Land of Elyon.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Barbara Mader - Children's Books
Address: University Place, WA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: 02 April 1997
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

To reserve a book, or if you have any questions, please e-mail us at

I have been selling high quality children's books since 1994 and have a record of excellent service.

WASHINGTON STATE RESIDENTS: sales tax will be added.

All dust jackets are covered with clear, archival-quality protective book jacket covers.

Book condition: I try to be clear and accurate in my grading. Abbreviations used: FINE = Fine (new or very nearly new condition; clean, bright, not price-clipped, no p...

[More Information]

Shipping Terms:

Shipping Terms: INTERNATIONAL ORDERS MUST SHIP BY AIR. Books are shipped at least twice a week. Books ordered shipped priority usually ship next day. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, or shipping and insurance costs range well outside our standard shipping charges, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping costs are required.

Store Description: In business since 1994. SPECIALIZING IN CHILDREN'S BOOKS: Signed, First Edition, and Out of print, from the 1930s to the present, with special emphasis on Caldecott and Newbery award-winning authors and illustrators. Most books are first printings in collectible condition. All dust jackets are covered in clear, archival-quality protective covers. EMAIL: