Mills, Mark The Whaleboat House

ISBN 13: 9780007184743

The Whaleboat House

3.65 avg rating
( 1,498 ratings by GoodReads )
9780007184743: The Whaleboat House

From the No. 1 bestseller and author of Richard & Judy pick The Savage Garden: an award-winning crime novel set in post-war New York for fans of Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jed Rubenfeld

Read by Kerry Shale.

In the small town of Amagansett, perched on Long Island's windswept coast, generations have followed the same calling as their forefathers, fishing the dangerous Atlantic waters. Little has changed in the three centuries since white settlers drove the Montaukett Indians from the land. But for Conrad Labarde, a second-generation Basque immigrant recently returned from the Second World War, and his fellow fisherman Rollo Kemp, this stability is shattered when a beautiful New York socialite turns up dead in their nets.

On the face of it, her death was accidental, but deputy police chief Tom Hollis – an incomer from New York – is convinced the truth lies in the intricate histories and family secrets of Amagansett's inhabitants. Meanwhile the enigmatic Labarde is pursuing his own investigation.

In unravelling the mystery, this haunting and evocative novel captures a community whose way of life is disappearing, its demise hastened by war in Europe and the incursions of wealthy city dwellers in search of a playground.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


‘Clever…original…subtle and stylish' Observer

'A striking and assured first thriller… worldly and impeccably researched' William Boyd

About the Author:

Mark Mills is a screenwriter. His film credits include The Reckoning, an adaptation of Barry's Unsworth's Morality Play, due for release in spring 2004. Amagansett is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Mills, Mark
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2005)
ISBN 10: 0007184743 ISBN 13: 9780007184743
Used Quantity Available: 1
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2005. Book Condition: very good. Gently used. Expect delivery in 20 days. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007184743-3

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds