Mead, Juliette Healing Flynn

ISBN 13: 9780007163502

Healing Flynn

9780007163502: Healing Flynn

A stunningly powerful novel of love and suffering for fans of Anita Shreve and Rosie Thomas.

It is a wild, terrible night when Madeline light sets eyes on Flynn Brennan, out in the North Sea trying to help the survivors of a devastating oil-rig disaster.

Weeks later, the same man appears at her door. A war photographer, he can no longer work, locked in his memories of one trip in particular. Unable to access his creativity, he is gradually shutting down and shutting out those he loves: his wife, his teenage children. Madeline is a trauma therapist and Flynn believes she can heal him. He begs her to help.

Madeline lives a carefully ordered, calm life with her partner, sculptor Patrick and Flynn's arrival is an unwanted interruption. But despite her hostility, she breaks her rules and takes him on. And as she struggles with this proud, difficult, passionate man, with whom she feels an extraordinary connection, she finds that she, too, must face up to her own demons from the past – and start to heal – even as she faces up to her present and her feelings for Flynn.

Immensely moving and powerful, Healing Flynn is an unforgettable novel.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


A powerfully-told story of guilt, grief and the need to live and love again in order to survive.' SUNDAY MIRROR

"The novel is a love story and engages at that level… [and also] an intriguing novel, which should appeal equally to anyone who has been in therapy, anyone who is curious what therapist and their clients talk about, and anyone who needs therapy themselves. It is a big constituency." SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

‘Healing Flynn deals intelligently with relationships and uses highly charged dramatic events to suggest similarly intense emotional landscapes. Powerful stuff.’ CLOSER

‘Juliette Mead uses the power of love to broach the subjects of loss, suffering and human relations. We are presented with two powerful insights into how a man reacts and deals with a war situation and what the loss of a child can mean to a woman.’ PUNCH


‘Juliette Mead writes with a delightful, playful intelligence and turns an unerring eye on the vagaries of desire, guilt and reconciliation.’ SHE

‘Strong, vital and absorbing’
Elizabeth Buchan, MAIL ON SUNDAY

‘An enjoyable and often moving read.’ DAILY MAIL

‘A poised and cleverly woven tale.’ Erica James

‘Astutely written… an unconventional and compelling love story with big appeal’

About the Author:

Juliette Mead was born in 1960. After pursuing a career in finance in London, New York and Dallas, she switched careers to become a headhunter, which inspired her first work of fiction. She now lives in Wiltshire with her husband and four children, and has written five successful novels.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want